Random Pictures

  RS - bunny  Easter bunny 2Easter time has lots of Random Stitched pieces. Bunny in yellow sweater was not meant to be a realistic interpretation of a bunny, but I stitched his fur like I thought a real bunny would look. On the face you can see all the stitches radiate from his nose. The ears are separated by a row of tent and are stitched to the contour of the shape. His paws were stitched in separate areas; each paw looked like I was three separate sections. 

 

Easter bunny 9b P&MeAnother whimsy bunny is the bunny in a carrot. His ears were Random Stitches and the thread, Peluche helped accent this stitch. In fact really long stitches could be used here since the thread had such great texture.

 

And my favorite bunny is Peter. Peter was a kit from Creative Needle (I think)… sometimes you still see him on Ebay. When I first went to work at a local shop, every Grandmother in our area stitched this bunny for her grandchildren…every grandmother but me. I just did not care for kits nor did I like the threads in this kit. Our store model sat right above our Epic threads and people would ask me how I liked Epic. I’d never tried it so all I could tell them was others who had stitchedEaster bunny 3 nddl Treas RS- Peter with it seemed to like it. One day Peter and Epic threads came together in my head and so this Grandmother bought Peter and stitched him. The only threads from the original kit were the threads used in his eye, nose and mouth. His fur is 5 Epic threads, blended together. He is my favorite stitched bunny and probably one of the best Random Stitches I have stitched so far. 

   Stitch Bag  Stitch Bag close up

 

 

 

 

 

Frame ToteFrameTote up closeThe Tailor of Glostershire on my stitching bags is also Random Stitch. Again I probably used 6-8 different Epic threads.

 

 

 

 

 

Eagle finishedThe Eagle I did for my Grandson he achieved the rank of Eagle Scout in the Boy Scouts of America. The original canvas I bought on Ebay; I contacted the designer and was told the canvas was no longer painted and would not paint the multiples I requested! I wish I had kept the original canvas, but that’s another blog too.  Anyway, I used Caron Impressions for the white feathers on the eagle. I love the way he looks and if you notice where the white feathers meet the black body and wing…I stitched the white up to about an inch from the bottom, then I stitched the black areas, and then went back and stitched the rest of the white feathers.

Eagle head  Eagle Whie meets Black 

 

 

 

 

 

ABS Angel 8And really the hair on the back of this angel from ABS Designs (http://thecapestitcher.blogspot.com/ or http://www.absdesignsonline.com/ )is Random Stitch too…Random Bullion Knots. You can see hoe the stitch overlaps here; it does not split the threads but it is the same technique, Sure glad this was a small area.

 

  Lucy complete

And here is Lucy…finally stitched. Lucy has 8 or 9 Epic threads for her fur. I like this Lucy but she is nowhere as cute as the real Lucy! My family thinks the needlepoint is wonderful, but then they like most things I stitch. lucy back 2I am showing you the back side too…I know this is not something we do very often but I want you to see that I am not methodical about where the Random Stitches are placed.

 

 

 

 

But the very best piece of Random Stitch I have ever done is Leopold (Leo just would not do) the Lion.

Leopold 1Leopold 2

  He lives in New York with my friend Linda H. She gave him his own chair in a special place in her home. Leopold took almost a year to complete and he had at minimum 15 different Epic threads in his mane…a couple of these threads were just dye lot changes. Dyelot changes happen with space dyed and overdyed threads. Leopold could almost walk off the canvas, he is beautiful! I loved him even before he was finishhed into a big pillow and got his own chair!

 

 

 

 

 

And this is the Long & Short of Random Stitching!  ttfn…sue

 P.S. May not be back for a couple days, I have two student handbooks to update.

Author: sudukc

I was taught that everyday you should learn something new, so I consider myself a needle artist in training. I may have more experience in some techniques than others. I can knit (if sqares count), crochet with some degree of accuracy, and beading but only enjoy peyote and bead embroidery techniques. I am most adept with a needle and thread; temari, cross stitch, stumpwork, learning goldwork and my favorite needlepoint. But I know there are needlepointers out there who have forgotten more than I will ever learn. I was a member of the American Needlepoint Guild (ANG) for over 20 years, have completed the Fellow Level of ANG Teacher certification. I have been a member of EGA and NETA but am not at present. I also love to stitch using my computer...I have done stitch diagrams for national teachers, needlework shops and my own business sd designs. Now I am retired, but I still do original designs but am not teaching any longer. In my other life, I am a wife, mother of 3 sons, GRANDmother to nine GRANDchildren (only 3 girls here) and a GREAT (only way this word will be used in same sentence with my name) Grandmother to 4 beautiful great grandchildren ( only one girl here too).

3 thoughts on “Random Pictures”

  1. These are absolutely stunning, Sue! My personal favorite is the little bunny with the yellow sweater, but Leopold IS magnificent. I’d love to see what you could do with a Rosalie canvas I’ve seen–a jungle scene with tons of animals, as well as flowers that could also benefit from L & S stitches.

Leave a comment