Another Goldwork Book & Lucky Shamrock

This post is going to be all about my goldwork class but I would be remiss if I didn’t mention another goldwork book I just puchased. Goldwork and Silk Shading, Inspired by Nature by Hazel Everett. Hazel passed away in 2018 but friend and colleague , Jan Barsby and Hazel’s husband, Adrian Richards collaborated to publish this book in her memory. It is a terrific addition to her first book, Goldwork Techniques, Projects and Pure Inspiration. This book explains how silk work and stumpwork can go hand in hand with goldwork. I loved how the book shows many of the examples done in all gold, all silk, and a combination of the two. It is truly inspirational and will give you many ideas. Another thing I found especially interesting was that all the examples of silk work are stitched using DMC 6 strand floss.
I am going to add this book to my previous post about books too

Now about Goldwork Lucky Clover is a class taught by Clara Warschauer (clarastitchingstitching.com) and my first real adventure into goldwork. I have taken a couple other classes, I really just audited these classes and never stitched anthing.

This was a 2 session zoom class and I made up my mind to actually try and keep up. After enrolling Clara sent a kit with all the materials needed to complete this clover and looks like enough materials to complete a second. I was a little concerned that there were no written instructions but Clara assured me that everything would be covered in class and that we would have unlimited access to these videos.

As I mentioned before in my blog (sudukc.wordpress.com/2022/01/14/taking-a-goldwork-class/) Clare had a little prework . Before class we were to wrap our hoops and draw the clover design onto the ground fabric. we needed a light and stand and usual stitching tools. Clara had suggested several tools especially for goldwork and I had these already so I was ready. If you would like to learn about wrapping a embroidery hoop Clara has a video on YouTube (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wFzYJPPcWlc&t=26s).

The first session Clara showed us exactly what to do and explained everything very well. In class Clara showed us two methods of padding, stuffing and layering felt. Then we use Supper Pearl Purl to outline the clover. She showed us how to make a lasso needle for helping to take our gold to backside of work and secure. She also has a video for making a lasso needle: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ejkiKjkKioI. She also showed how to stitch the stem and how to lay Japanese threads in the first petal.

I had begun stitching with here but by the time she had stitched all the felt in place and started on the outlines, I was still stitching the green clover (step one) to the ground. Needless to say I decided to stop what I was doing and to listen and take notes. I was glad we were going to have access to the viedo too because I was sure I probably missed a hint or two.

So during the first week between classes I diligently went to my stitching nest and stitched my clover, I wanted to keep up and not let the class get ahead of me. One of the major things I learned is that goldwork is not going to be a social stitching piece. You need concentration and and attention to detail for this technique. I imagine it is much like Japanese Embroidery with much attentions to technique and application of technique to truly master this media. I spent about 8-10 hours of stitch time just to complete the first part. But I liked the solace of the stitching time. I lost all sense of time and space.

I completed the homework and was waiting for the next class which took us through the rest of the stitching and how to finishing. This class I just took notes and knew I was in for another 8-10 hours of stitching before I was going to attempt the finishing. I was also happy this class was also taped for our reference too. I think I watched this tape a couple times just for the finishing .

It took me about ten days to complete this project, not because it took me longer to stitch but because I had a couple other commitments and I wanted to have blocks of time to stitch. Once my clover was completed I knew there were quite a few faults but it is my first piece and I will keep practicing. I am going to make another and I know that I overstuffed the first clover and my stem left much to be desired. And I really need practice cutting purl, I had lots of little tags on my chipping that I needed to clip off. And a couple chippings were unusable but I’m going to save them, never know when you might need a pulled purl. But as my friend says; “If you are close enough to my stitching to see my mistakes , you are too close.”

And that’s about it for today. I am working on a new sewing project that I’ll share later, I have loads of finishing needlepoint to do and I’m going to make another clover soon before I start another project. I also need to start a solcial needlepoint I can take to sitch-ins and other places. I did get out a guild project I thought I could do but as I read the instructions I realized this was not a project that I wanted to do, so I will keep the golds and make another clover before I attempt one of the other kits I have in waiting.

Thank You for stopping by again.
Hope you find time to do whatever makes you happiest and creative AND I hope you have time to do it today and every day…

ttfn…sue

Author: sudukc

I was taught that everyday you should learn something new, so I consider myself a needle artist in training. I may have more experience in some techniques than others. I can knit (if sqares count), crochet with some degree of accuracy, and beading but only enjoy peyote and bead embroidery techniques. I am most adept with a needle and thread; temari, cross stitch, stumpwork, learning goldwork and my favorite needlepoint. But I know there are needlepointers out there who have forgotten more than I will ever learn. I was a member of the American Needlepoint Guild (ANG) for over 20 years, have completed the Fellow Level of ANG Teacher certification. I have been a member of EGA and NETA but am not at present. I also love to stitch using my computer...I have done stitch diagrams for national teachers, needlework shops and my own business sd designs. Now I am retired, but I still do original designs but am not teaching any longer. In my other life, I am a wife, mother of 3 sons, GRANDmother to nine GRANDchildren (only 3 girls here) and a GREAT (only way this word will be used in same sentence with my name) Grandmother to 4 beautiful great grandchildren ( only one girl here too).

Leave a comment