Goldwork Books

Well! My goldwork class does not begin until Today. At first I was bummed out but then I decided to take Monday and write up my goldwork books. And yes I have read all these listed. I take notes and put them in the book for reference. Then on Tuesday tried to upload to my computer but WordPress has changed so much since I last used that there is a whole new learning curve. But I hope to have up before class begins on Wednesday. After several hours, this is as good as it is going to get until I have more time to become user friedly with WordPress…

I have more than 20 goldwork books but some I never use or even look through, so I am only going to list the ones I keep handy and together on the bookshelf. Some books that are less used are designated to top hard to reach shelves. It also pleases me that books are still being written about this technique, not only teaching the basics but in some cases “pushing the envelope.” If art is to succeed and grow it must not only adhere to the basics but also reach to the future.

Goldwork is not always a technique unto itself. Sometimes other embroidery techniques complement goldwork like silk embroidery, blackwork, stumpwork and even canvaswork (my first love). Some of the techniques and threads used in goldwork may be used in these other stitching disciplines also.

At first I was going to list the books in the order I like them best but then I realized I like all of these for different reasons, some I just like the eye-candy ideas/designs, some I lust over and hope maybe someday will live long enough to accomplish.

Also some books I prefer the layout to others and that’s not so say that the information in one book isn’t just as good as an other’s information. How I use these books is if for example: I am looking up how to use card in a project. I will look at all these books and mark with a post-it note all those that have information on how to use card. I will review each and decide which is best for my application and proceed. It’s like choosing which stitch to use where in canvaswork, there is no one perfect answer, only the one you chose…It’s a personal preference, like I like blue more than orange. This is true of the projects given in each book, some I like better than other and my choices may different from yours. So with this in mind and not to show personal preferences, I have decided to list my go-to goldwork books in alphabetical order by author.

I also tried to contact several of the authors with more recent publication dates to get their permission to use pictures of the covers and a page layout inside. I am a firm believer in copyright laws and anyway it is just common courtesy to ask permission. Some of the books are older and I did not try to contact these authors as there is a educational exemption in the copyright law. The authors I sent and received permission to use are noted with an asterisk (*), and Thank you again. (I will update if I receive others.)

Chamberlin

Chamberline, Ruth; Beginners Guide to Goldwork; Search Press; 2007. A study of the sampler featured on the cover of the book. The book covers materials, equipment, designing, getting started, stitches and techniques used in sampler. There is also an acorn project at the end of book with instructions.

*Cole, Alison; All That Glitters; Search Press; 2006. This book is written in two parts; the first are the stitches and techniques used to complete the stumpwork and goldwork projects in the second part of the book. The second part of the book are ten (10) projects, each with a color picture, a list of requirements (materials and tools), line drawings to include master drawing and templates for felt and leather as required. There are also complete instructions with cross references to part 1 for techniques and methods. A lovely book and truly eye-candy for any goldwork enthusiast.

*Cole, Alison; The Midas Touch; Allison Cole Embroidery; 2008. Second project book published for stumpwork and goldword. This book is a similar format to the first. It has two parts; the first includes the threads and techniques used to complete the projects in second half of book. In the second half of the book eleven (11) projects are featured; each with a list of requirements (materials and tools), line drawings to include master drawing and templates and complete instructions with cross references to part 1 for techniques and methods. Another lovely book and more eye-candy for any stitcher.

*Cole, Alison; The Goldwork Masterclass; 2019 This book was written as Allison Cole’s Masterclass for the Embroiderers Guild of Victoria (Australia). It is reference book with glorious pictures. Each chapter has a stitched sampler plate at the beginning (sudu note: I think these are worthy of framing) and that same plate at the end with a key reference to the sampler. And in between these two plates is an overview of the methods and techniques used in the chapter each showing the technique. A beautiful book, truly inspirational.

Dawson, Barbara; The Techniques of Metal Thread Embroidery; B.T.Batsford Ltd.; 1985 A refence book with extensive history and discussion of metal thread technique. The book has all blank and white pictures, buy is a handy reference book.

Everett, Hazel; Goldwork Techniques, Projects and Pure Inspiration; Search Press; 2011. The title says it all; thus book covers a brief history,equipment, translating images to designs, order of working, metal threads, techniques and methods. It has projects with color pictures, line drawings, materials list techniques listed and order of working design.

*Franklyn, Tracy; New Ideas in Goldwork; B.T.Batsford Ltd.; 2002. This book not only explores traditional goldwork techniques and methods but also explores some “Out of the box” methods and techniques. It is nice to see the exploration of this technique being pushed to new levels after first understanding the basics of the goldwork techniques. It also has other artists designs with their artist statements. A true eye candy book for any goldwork enthusiast.

Kreinik, Jacqueline Freidman; Metallic Thread Embroidery; David & Charles; 2000 A look at Kreinik metallic threads with color chart at the time of publication (sudu note: some threads have been discontinued and others added). It has over a dozen designs incorporating Kreinik threads to stitch. It is a useful reference for using Kreinik threads.

Lemon, Jane; Metal Thread Embroidery; B.T.Batsford Ltd; 2004. A Reference book in Alphabetical order of tools , materials, techniques and places to visit around the world. A great reference tool for anyone specializing in metal embroidery.

Lomny, Anthony; The Art and Craft of Goldwork; Simon & Schuster; 2004 There are fifteen (15) goldwork projects in this book. Each project has a color picture, materials list, line drawings and description of the methods used.

McCook, Helen; Goldwork Royal School of Needlework Stitch Guides; Search Press; 2012 This is the smaller edition of the RSN books. Small compact study of goldwork with clear and concise pictures and text. There are no projects in this book.

Nimura,Emi; RSN Book Goldwork, Techniques, Projects and Pure Inspiration;; 2021 This is the larger edition of the RSN books. There are two parts to this book: the first covers materials, tools, method of stitching, framing up, order of working, methods and techniques of goldwork. The second part of the book are projects and a gallery of inspiration. Projects are complete with materials list, templates, color pictures as well as the+ order and method of stitching the project.

*Pye, Lizzy; Goldwork Embroidery Techniques and Projects; Crowood Press; 2020. A complete study of goldwork from materials to techniques and even finishing suggestions. The pictures and instructions are great. There are six (6) projects complete with materials list, equipment needed, line drawings for project, felt and leather templates’ and step by step instructions. Another truly beautiful book.

Pyman, Kit-editor; The Maderia Book of Gold and Silver; Search Press; 1988 This book covers Goldwork, Machine /embroidery, Lettering, Church Embroidery, Beadwork, and Tambour Beading by many different well known embroidery artists This book uses ,mainly Maderia threads but is full of design ideas and inspiration.

Goldwork Revised and Expanded; Search Press; 1995 This is a condensed book of Goldwork portion of The Maderia Book of Gold and Silver edited by Kit Pyman (see above)

Rakestraw, Sarah and Susan Hinde; Glorious Goldwork; Golden Hinde; 2018. Complete book of Goldwork studies with pictures from tools & Materials to techniques and methods. Each technique or method is explained step by step with pictures. Nine (9) projects are included in this book with requirements, line tracing (drawings, leather,felt & card tracings, and the method of stitching. I liked the corners of the pages that give you an idea of the method or technique on that page.

Saunders, Sally-text by; Royal School of Needlework Embroidery Techniques; 1998. This book is an introduction to silk shading, crewel work, Blackwork and goldwork. It is published by the Royal School of Needlework and all these techniques can be used with goldwork. Designs in this book are well thought out and inspiring.

Scott, Anna; A-Z of Goldwork with Silk Embroidery; Country Bumpkin Publications; 2008. This book has 2 parts: The first being the technical part including materials, methods and techniques and the second part is seven (7) projects complete with materials and techniques used.This is an A-Z book and they are always good.

These books are good too but not strictly goldwork…

Ashby, Daphne and Jackie Woolsey; Creative Embroidery Techniques Using Colour Through Gold; 1998. This is not a goldwork book but does use gold threads stitched on needlepoint canvas. I included this book because I am at heart an Needlepoint person who loves geometries. This book is eye candy for my passion.

Jane Nicholas; Stumpwork & Goldwork inspired by Turkish, Syrian & Persian Tiles. Stumpwork, Goldwork and surface Embroidery Beetle Collection Any Jane Nicholas book is eye candy for a needlework person. These two just happen to have goldwork in their titles and use goldwork in their designs.

I have other books that include goldwork but are mainly other needlework techniques but are still eye candy for the soul. I am cursed or gifted with a memory of most of my books and by just looking through my library can spot books that might have eye candy for the technique I am researching. I did not include them here as I felt this list should include mostly books that were methods and techniques of goldwork.

Thank You for stopping by again.

Hope you find time to do whatever makes you happiest and creative AND I hope you have time to do it today and every day…

ttfn…sue

Author: sudukc

I was taught that everyday you should learn something new, so I consider myself a needle artist in training. I may have more experience in some techniques than others. I can knit (if sqares count), crochet with some degree of accuracy, and beading but only enjoy peyote and bead embroidery techniques. I am most adept with a needle and thread; temari, cross stitch, stumpwork, learning goldwork and my favorite needlepoint. But I know there are needlepointers out there who have forgotten more than I will ever learn. I was a member of the American Needlepoint Guild (ANG) for over 20 years, have completed the Fellow Level of ANG Teacher certification. I have been a member of EGA and NETA but am not at present. I also love to stitch using my computer...I have done stitch diagrams for national teachers, needlework shops and my own business sd designs. Now I am retired, but I still do original designs but am not teaching any longer. In my other life, I am a wife, mother of 3 sons, GRANDmother to nine GRANDchildren (only 3 girls here) and a GREAT (only way this word will be used in same sentence with my name) Grandmother to 4 beautiful great grandchildren ( only one girl here too).

2 thoughts on “Goldwork Books”

Leave a comment