Taking a goldwork class

My first new adventure for 2022 is a goldwork class. I have several goldwork projects and ideas I would like to do but have had very little instructions in this media.

I audited a class from a local guild teacher, but didn’t do any actual goldwork. Our guild also had a teacher come for a class but it was more of a design class in goldwork than an actual hands on class. And I did computer work for a goldwork class (Golden Petals) taught by  Toni Gerdes (www.tonigerdes.com) but I didn’t have time to stitch this one either.

I have 3 or four goldwork kits I’ve purchased and a couple projects on my drawing board I really want to stitch. So although I’m familiar with the technique I have never actually been in hands on class until now.

I am signed up to take a  goldwork class with Clara Warschauer (www.clarastitching.com) . It is a small Shamrock and I can hardly wait, class starts Jan 17th.

Before my mother started a new project she would gather up every conceivable supply, tool, book, whatever she thought she might need to successfully complete the project. I am my mother’s daughter in some ways and I have been gathering up supplies for some time. My mother always had everything meticulously organized and although I fight organization I find myself being exactly like she was sometimes. So..

My class project has its own little box with every thing that came in the kit plus I have print off pre-workout instructions, wrapped my hoop and marked my pattern.

I wrapped my hoop with bias tape and drew my Shamrock on the fabric. Both hoop rings are supposed to be wrapped with woven tape ( I bought my tape when I bought my frames), cotton strips of cloth or bias tape. I did this but first one was so tight didn’t think I would get fabric on the frame and be able to tighten screw. So I only wrapped inner hoop on second frame as a back up; but fabric did fit…wonder of wonders.

Clara asked that we have cutting board to cut metals. I happen to have one from one of those guild class I audited. It is a computer disk holder, a polishing bag (you used to get these free in hotel rooms to buff your shoes or some high-end make- up companies put some of there products in these soft bags. And my bank gives away eyeglass cleaner cloths that work.) and a piece of card cut to fit box. You also can make on by just cutting a piece of velvet or felt to go around card…or if you are handy with sewing machine, make a bag. Put card in bag and place in tin.. and you have a cutting board with lid …this will be handy if you have extra gold cut and have to stop stitching (heaven forbid.)when you have a box with a lid, just put a lid on it and when you return everything is where it should be. Handy tip for those who have little friend around.

Clara also asked for goldwork scissors. I am covered here, I have every type of scissors imaginable. From top down: double curve, curved blade, snippet scissors,  goldwork scissors (serrated edge), new embroidery scissors and surgery scissors ( one blunt tip). I have others types8 handy in my sewing room too.

She also said a mellor and a light box would be nice but optional. I have a mellor and I made my light box. I use a plexiglass see though ruler (made for quilters and used with rotary cutters), fabric weights but four of  anything of same height would work and my phone with a white image and full brightness on the screen or a small flashlight to fit under board. Or use window; tape design on window and tape fabric over…nature’s own light box.

A stand is needed and I have stands…floor stand, lap stand and a clamp. Don’t know which I will use yet, but will let you know and why.

But that’s not all I’ve collected for my class, after all I am my mother’s daugter. I have this carrying case with most all my goldwork tools in one place.

Extra needles… the container holding needles is a Q-tip travel container. You can get them at discount stores or drug stores, they cost about a dollar and you get q-tips too (I think I had quite a supply of q-tips for a while)

I have gold thread( silver thread in drawer), extra felt with spare needles,, a thread bobbin,  a thimble, needle threaders (because one does not always work), and beeswax.

Tweezers: read you should learn to use and not touch gold much. The oil from your had may tarnish gold. Also have read to wash hands but don’t use hand lotion…oils again. I have blunt tweezers, pointed tweezers , very pointed tweezers, and bent tweezers.

And miscellaneous stuff that I usually always have when I’m stitching. A light and dark lap cloth; if you use this under your needlepoint makes holes easier to see. I thought it might be useful under cutting board in case some gold pops. My extra eyes…don’t go anywhere to stitch without them. A ruler with metric measurements.  And an ort box, although I don’t think any gold will be thrown away. And a good light source. I have several choices plus windows. And finally my stitching buddy; Jiminy has been with me for a long time.

So as you can see I am ready and waiting …can you tell I am excited? I’m going to bring my computer, notebook and phone up to my sewing room this week end to make sure I have good zoom reception otherwise will have to stitch in my office…guess I better clean a spot…it’s still a mess.

I’m also going to read more of the goldwork books I have collected this week-end. I’ll report on these later..

Thank You for stopping by again.

Hope you find time to do whatever makes you happiest today. Used to say stitch but whatever makes you creative, hope you have time to do it today and every day…

ttfn…sue

Author: sudukc

I was taught that everyday you should learn something new, so I consider myself a needle artist in training. I may have more experience in some techniques than others. I can knit (if sqares count), crochet with some degree of accuracy, and beading but only enjoy peyote and bead embroidery techniques. I am most adept with a needle and thread; temari, cross stitch, stumpwork, learning goldwork and my favorite needlepoint. But I know there are needlepointers out there who have forgotten more than I will ever learn. I was a member of the American Needlepoint Guild (ANG) for over 20 years, have completed the Fellow Level of ANG Teacher certification. I have been a member of EGA and NETA but am not at present. I also love to stitch using my computer...I have done stitch diagrams for national teachers, needlework shops and my own business sd designs. Now I am retired, but I still do original designs but am not teaching any longer. In my other life, I am a wife, mother of 3 sons, GRANDmother to nine GRANDchildren (only 3 girls here) and a GREAT (only way this word will be used in same sentence with my name) Grandmother to 4 beautiful great grandchildren ( only one girl here too).

4 thoughts on “Taking a goldwork class”

  1. Hi, Sue, looking forward to hearing more about your goldwork lesson. I took an online class from Becky Hogg and it was excellent: https://beckyhogg.com/shop-workshops/. Have also taken from Alison Cole and Tanja Berlin. Now I just need to finish these pieces. Did finish a Michele Roberts seminar piece–first one, so could be better. Have found that teachers have different ideas about what to use for bumpf. — Janice

  2. Love how you’ve organized everything you need for this class. Kudos! I too use “mag eyes” for stitching and am wondering about the fabric around the top–did you pad the top yourself or did it come that way. If you did it, how did you do it? Thanks!

    1. It was a gift and doesn’t have a tag. I Google sweatband for magnifiers and cane up with one. I bet if you look at Walmart or a hardware store you’d find something that would work

Leave a comment