No stitching today,,,just making new friends

I am stitching, just have nothing to share yet…but I will.

2015-06-16 KC Needlepoint outsideToday I went visiting. We have a new needlepoint shop in town. I remember when we had five or six shops, maybe more, but sadly were down to two shops, but now we have three. This new shop KC Needlepoint; 105 East Gregory; Kansas City, Mo.; 2015-06-16 KCN Carol & Pollyhttp://www.kcneedlepoint.com  is owned by two young excited young women…Polly and Carol. They are starting out small with the basics and will slowly add to their inventory. In this day and age I think this is a 2015-06-16 KCN threadssmart idea…it would be nice to think that someone could open a shop with every thread and lots of canvases from many different designers, but the reality of today’s market is that is not economically 2015-06-16 KCN place to stitchfeasible nor would it be a smart business move.  Their shop is bright and refreshing with great areas for stitching and lots of areas to expand.

2015-06-16 KCN canvases & stitchingWherever we live, we need to support these young people in their ventures. They are the future of our art. If we are to survive as a needlework art, we need to support these new fledgling shops and help them to survive. Because without them we all lose! We not only lose that place to go and meet others who like us have a love of handmade needlework. We lose the place to learn new stitches, new techniques, new ideas and exchange ideas. We lose a place to SEE and buy our canvases and threads. But most of all we lose the place to connect one generation of stitchers to the next, we lose those young people we so desperately need to keep this art alive.

Remember the old Girl Scout song…”Make new friends and keep the old…one is silver and the other gold.”  We all need each other, we need to learn and teach each other. So I urge you to support your local shop or shops no matter how long it has been in business. And especially support that new shop, she (they) may be the new designer or teacher of the future.

So after you visit that shop, I hope you find time to stitch today!  And Thank you for stopping by…

ttfn…sue

Author: sudukc

I was taught that everyday you should learn something new, so I consider myself a needle artist in training. I may have more experience in some techniques than others. I can knit (if sqares count), crochet with some degree of accuracy, and beading but only enjoy peyote and bead embroidery techniques. I am most adept with a needle and thread; temari, cross stitch, stumpwork, learning goldwork and my favorite needlepoint. But I know there are needlepointers out there who have forgotten more than I will ever learn. I was a member of the American Needlepoint Guild (ANG) for over 20 years, have completed the Fellow Level of ANG Teacher certification. I have been a member of EGA and NETA but am not at present. I also love to stitch using my computer...I have done stitch diagrams for national teachers, needlework shops and my own business sd designs. Now I am retired, but I still do original designs but am not teaching any longer. In my other life, I am a wife, mother of 3 sons, GRANDmother to nine GRANDchildren (only 3 girls here) and a GREAT (only way this word will be used in same sentence with my name) Grandmother to 4 beautiful great grandchildren ( only one girl here too).

4 thoughts on “No stitching today,,,just making new friends”

  1. As I read “One is silver the other gold”….I’m wondering which shade of Kreinik they might be! Hahah!

    Very nice article and very true. Fresh faces bring fresh ideas and we can never have too many of those!

  2. Sue,
    I saw information about your blog at the Chilly Hollow blog and was very excited.
    I thought all the needlepoint shops in KC had closed.
    Glad to see there is a new one.
    I live up north Smithville and will have to check this out.
    You mentioned that there are 2 more where at?!!?

    1. The Studio: moved from the Plaza area to south of 95th and Nall; 9555 Nall Avenue, Overland Park, KS 64112
      Phone:(816) 531-4466

      Needle Fiber Arts: open tuesdays or by appointment (913)381-0722

Leave a comment