Today’s Road Trip: The Quilt Show

2015-06-20 Quilt Show entranceToday I went to the 1st Kansas City Regional Quilt Festival (http://kcrqf.com/)and about walked myself to death (next time I am buying a week-end pass and doing the expo in stages). I love quilts and have a great appreciation for the work that goes into these works of art.

I have made a quilt or two in my younger life but none as 2015-06-20 Quilt one block alovely as the ones I say today. I made each of my sons a simple nine patch. The material for these patches were old shirt samples my mother had saved from her days working in a retail men’s store; each sample was about 4inches by 5 inches so I just used them as 2015-06-20 Quilt one block bthey were to make the blocks. I used a flat twin sheet to join them together into a quilt top and then I backed with another twin sheet. I hand quilted one and after infecting a finger had the other two machine quilted.  Later I tried my hand at a quilt as you go log cabin pattern using the denim from my sons’ jeans. This was a better effort even if it took me forever to complete them; and not to mention that each quilt weighed a 2015-06-20 Quilt hankiehefty amount. I had a console sewing machine at the time and would have one of the boys sit under my machine and hold the table part up so the machine would not tip over while I was sewing the strips together. I think parts of these six quilts live still today…the shirt quilts surprise me but the jeans quilts were like iron.

2015-06-20 Quilt hankie blockBut the quilts I saw today were magnificent, works of art. You really wanted to have an artist statement with all of them. You know each of those quilts has a story to tell. All the quilts in the expo were either entered in the judging or were quilt guild displaying their members work. Then on the first floor of the 2015-06-20 Quilt hand quiltedexpo were the challenge pieces, the theme was the Beatles. These were small wall hanging quilts. And then the Texas quilters sent some of their quilts for a special exhibit…the face was really an eye catcher.

I wanted to see Janet Stones new alphabet quilts, both won a first prize ribbons. I wrote about Janet a few 2015-06-20 Quilt A Little Bit of Baltimoreyears ago when I went to another quilt show (https://sudukc.wordpress.com/2011/05/18/the-art-of-machine-quilted-quilts/). Her first quilt A Letter Bit of Baaltimore, yes with two “a”s… a tribute to her love of sheep. I had no trouble finding the first sheep but the second one took me a minute. Truthfully I was not looking for the obvious and first checked the letters S and  B (also took a picture of the D, well sd are my initials) thinking she hid the sheep here. I was so convinced Janet had hidden the second sheep I didn’t even think to look for the obvious…but obvious he was. This quilt also won a NQA Award of Merit ribbon ( I think it is the same as an ANG Judge’s Choice ribbon)

2015-06-20 Quilt No LHer second quilt is No L and this one I got right away. I liked the traditional blocks combined with the modern border…Janet’s quilts are stunning and all have the alphabet.

It is very tempting to get caught up in the moment and think about taking on a new endeavor…especially when you hear one lady telling another “Oh, I just decided to try something new last year…I made this quilt in a couple weeks.”  But I restrained myself, I remembered my crochet fiasco from a few posts back (https://sudukc.wordpress.com/2015/05/22/no-vacation-only-pitfalls/). So no I did not succumb to the temptation to buy patterns, books and other quilting supplies…. I did take the two needlepoint pieces I am stitching to see if I could find material or embellishments I might want to use, but did by the time I got to the shopping part of the expo I was 2015-06-20 needlesgetting tired and so not a lot appealed to me. BUT, not to leave empty handed, I did find these needles from Japen. They are called Hiroshima needles and are made in Hiroshima Japan by Tulip. More about these later after I have time to read about them and try them out.

Here are more quilts…I took over 100 pictures but these are some of my favorites.

2015-06-20 Quilt God Calls Us to Peace 2015-06-20 Quilt hand quilted2015-06-20 quilt texas2015-06-20 quilt Beatles 2 2015-06-20 quilt Beatles

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am so tired I am going to my stitching nest and I hope that I get some stitching accomplished but if not the nap I take will be well deserved.

Thank you for stopping by… I hope you find time to stitch today!

ttfn…sue

One thought on “Today’s Road Trip: The Quilt Show

  1. I so understand all that you express in your blog. Sometimes the beauty and the realization of the work that goes into quilts just make me ache with the joy of them. I too have succumbed to thinking I can quilt, but have found it just does not make my hands and heart sing in the doing. So glad there is a show to attend. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

