First entry of 2014…playing catch-up already

Welcome to 2014…I know the month is over half gone but for the first 14 days of this year I had the flu…and last week I spent regaining some of my stamina and avoiding being out (doctor’s orders…not because I was still contagious but because my immune system is low.) So for all you who are reading this blog and have not had your flu shot…STOP reading this blog and head for the closest place to get a flu shot. I kid you not this thing is a hum dinger and I still feel sketchy and am not working with all cylinders firing.

14-01-23 sick deskThis was my office, my cat and this chair have been my best friend for three weeks and I am getting so used to this I may hate to move back to the office. But if I don’t get back in the office soon there may OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAnot be room for me and the computer…I already have two desks full of work, not to mention I have not taken stitch the first two weeks of this year.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Last week, I didn’t actually needlepoint stitch but I did finish (hand stitching) a take-a-long project I had stitched last year.  Remember Nick and Walter from last year (https://sudukc.wordpress.com/2013/02/12/laissez-les-bons-temps-roule/)? I mentioned I would love to have Val and as we fellow needlepoint lovers know, there is always someone willing to share. I received a lovely email from a fellow stitcher who was willing to send me an extra Val from her stash. Val is a Kathy Meyer Design (http://kathymeyer1.tripod.com/kmdesigns/index.html), a Gaughi doll. I don’t think Kathy is designing anymore as I could not get her to respond to my email last year but I do like these dolls…I think they are just fun.  I took Val on OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAour trip to SD and did most of the stitching and finished up the eyes, lashes and eyelids when I got home.  Then I set her aside to finish in my spare time. Out of sight, out of mind…and then last week I realized Valentine’s Day was fast approaching and I better get Val ready for her big debut. I got her body out and opened up her neck to give her some backbone structure; then I finished her head and attached it to her body. Added a pair of heart earrings just for kicks and…Val is ready to make her sweet debut for her special day and I have my first finish of 2014.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

14-01-23 MajKVI am still trying to finish the stitching 14-01-23 MinKVinstructions for my Values of Gray booklet. Before the holidays I had more than 8 pieces stitched and had made extensive notes but had not written the stitching instructions. Needless to say, even with my extensive notes, these instructions are slow in coming; it feels almost like artist block. And I still have one more piece I would like to stitch for this project.

And I am trying to clear the cobwebs out of my head so I can write some instructions on how I use Canvas to write my instructions for my work and the work I do for others. Before the holidays I upgraded my version to Canvas 15 and received permission to copy screens so I can use them in my instructions. More about this later.

So this blog pretty much catches everyone up; the flu has a way of slowing production down , but least I have one blog entry made for this month.

Thank you for stopping by and I hope you have time to stitch today! Stitch for me too…still have not taken a needlepoint stitch this year…just don’t feel like it nor have the desire and it is driving me nuts.

ttfn…sue

Author: sudukc

I was taught that everyday you should learn something new, so I consider myself a needle artist in training. I may have more experience in some techniques than others. I can knit (if sqares count), crochet with some degree of accuracy, and beading but only enjoy peyote and bead embroidery techniques. I am most adept with a needle and thread; temari, cross stitch, stumpwork, learning goldwork and my favorite needlepoint. But I know there are needlepointers out there who have forgotten more than I will ever learn. I was a member of the American Needlepoint Guild (ANG) for over 20 years, have completed the Fellow Level of ANG Teacher certification. I have been a member of EGA and NETA but am not at present. I also love to stitch using my computer...I have done stitch diagrams for national teachers, needlework shops and my own business sd designs. Now I am retired, but I still do original designs but am not teaching any longer. In my other life, I am a wife, mother of 3 sons, GRANDmother to nine GRANDchildren (only 3 girls here) and a GREAT (only way this word will be used in same sentence with my name) Grandmother to 4 beautiful great grandchildren ( only one girl here too).

One thought on “First entry of 2014…playing catch-up already”

Leave a comment