Beaded edging

or how I really spent Thanksgiving week-end. Did minimal shopping but had a relaxing time just beading.

11-29-12 bead aA friend gave me this beading mat last summer and I have not had a chance to try it until now. I don’t know where you can get it but I bet a local needlework or bead store could help you but here are a couple references I found:

http://www.amazon.com/Beadsmith-BMS1-Sticky-Bead-Mat/dp/B003SRGE5M

http://www.widgetsupply.com/product/BDH10.html?gclid=CNOv7eiZ8rMCFQVgMgod7G0Arg

Even found this Double sized mat, but I thought the smaller one was just right for needlepoint:

http://www.etsy.com/listing/95260015/sticky-bead-mat-xl-double-sided?utm_source=googleproduct&utm_medium=syndication&utm_campaign=GPS&gclid=CMjE5YmZ8rMCFc5cMgod7i8AIQ

shows how few beads fell off ...but I did not shake it just turned on side.
shows how few beads fell off …but I did not shake it just turned on side.

I love this thing, kept the beads in place and allowed me to have the beads close as I stitched around the piece. I had seen this finishing technique at an EGA meeting last spring and filled a mental picture away for later use.

After stitching the needlepoint I finished two separate pieces over archival safe illustration board (or whatever you use. It has to have some weight

5 beads was the width of my ornament ...yours ma be different
5 beads was the width of my ornament …yours ma be different

to it to support the beads and needlepoint, but I thought foam core would be too bulky) I used a piece of extra fluffy batting to give some padding to both sides.  I also did not glue the pieces on but laced them to each illustration board, then I stitched the two sided together. My beading was 5 beads to cover (depending on the size of you bead and your backing board yours may be different.) Each time I put another row of beads on I went through a

be sure to bring needle out in correct spot or your beading will be uneven.
be sure to bring needle out in correct spot or your beading will be uneven.

previous row of beads and when I began or ended a thread I went through several rows of beads and the buried the thread in the center. When I completed the beading around I made a beaded loop for the hanger.

That’s how I spent last week-end and now my niece has an ornament for her philanthropic group Christmas ornament exchange.

Thank you for stopping by and I hope you have time to stitch today!
ttfn…sue

11-29-12 bead f11-29-12 bead h11-29-12 bead g

11-29-12 bead j

Author: sudukc

I was taught that everyday you should learn something new, so I consider myself a needle artist in training. I may have more experience in some techniques than others. I can knit (if sqares count), crochet with some degree of accuracy, and beading but only enjoy peyote and bead embroidery techniques. I am most adept with a needle and thread; temari, cross stitch, stumpwork, learning goldwork and my favorite needlepoint. But I know there are needlepointers out there who have forgotten more than I will ever learn. I was a member of the American Needlepoint Guild (ANG) for over 20 years, have completed the Fellow Level of ANG Teacher certification. I have been a member of EGA and NETA but am not at present. I also love to stitch using my computer...I have done stitch diagrams for national teachers, needlework shops and my own business sd designs. Now I am retired, but I still do original designs but am not teaching any longer. In my other life, I am a wife, mother of 3 sons, GRANDmother to nine GRANDchildren (only 3 girls here) and a GREAT (only way this word will be used in same sentence with my name) Grandmother to 4 beautiful great grandchildren ( only one girl here too).

One thought on “Beaded edging”

  1. Wow! That is beautiful, but very labor intensive! You are very generous with your time to donate it for a charitable event. I hope someone spends a lot of money to win this one.

Leave a comment