How I sell needlework online

I have had a few people ask me how to do this, so I so I am sharing how I do it.

First I researched what I was selling; I Googled, I looked on other selling sites (including EBay and Amazon). I made notes of prices if exact match or close. I made notes of descriptions. In short I did my research.

Then I went to Facebook, and checked needlepoint selling sites; when I first started there were only 2-3, now there are 8-10 and that doesn’t include Ebay and Amazon. I noted how many members they had, how often posts were listed, and if there seemed to be some active traffic and selling. I read their rules (but if you miss something the administrators will usually let you know.) Let me add a note here: the rules have changed over the years and some sites have more rules than others.

I also noted who was selling on these sites and if there were people whose names I recognized I watched their posts to get an idea of how they were listing their items, if they were selling, and noted their pricing.

You need to spend some time checking out the sites and decide which site(s) are best for you.

I keep two files: A spreadsheet with columns and a formula: my columns are (underline column heading)

Control Number ### (PayPal will give you an invoice number and a transaction number: I use the last three digits of the invoice number and the last 4-5 numbers/letters or the transaction number- Example 001…1234A),

Name of the Items (I use designer or author name if known too, Example: MShirley Thimble Angle or Author-Book title),

Selling Price (this may change if you mark down),

Fees (PayPal and Ebay have them),

Mailing Cost

Net this is my formula column (=sum(sell-fee-mail)

Buyer Last name

Tracking Number: I do not send anything I cannot track.

The other file I keep is a word document that has my pre-listing info. I came up with a format for me and I pretty much stick with it (unless administrators want sometime more or less and then I adjust this format OR pull the item and find another site to use. Before I list an item I have the following information written down in a master word file.

Description of Item: Needlepoint canvas- be very descriptive

Example: MShirley Thimble Angel canvas

Asking Price and date:

Example: $00.00-month-day-year

(I do this so if I reduce I can show new date too)

Example: reduced$00.00 date ($00.00 date) this is original price

Note: I do not reduce second time. I pull the item if it does not sell and may at a later date re –list at original price OR just donate or sell to used book store.

Designer/Author: if known

Original cost: if known

Size of canvas/book: measurements

Size of Design area: ONLY area to be stitched (needlepoint canvas only)

Condition: (new-used-partially stitched- old- fair- poor) I usually add whether it is smoke free home and whether a pet lives with you. I have a note here too…I have sold things for a third party and unless the third party lets me know the smoke and pet status, I leave it out.

Postage & handling: type and who pays—

Note: I use either first class or book rate; I round the postage to nearest .50 Note about book rate…if you purchase postage through PayPal there is a tracking # for book rate; if you go to post office there is no tracking number available. I also add the cost of the envelope.

US shipping only: some people don’t mind shipping out of the US but even Canada has additional paper work and cost

Comment “Me Please”

This is what a book listing might look like: (would also have pictures)

Item: Basics and Beyond

Selling Price $10/ 9-1-20 (only price shows on listing )

Author: Janice Love

Original cost: $15

Publishing date – 1990

Number of Pages: 50 pages

Book dimensions -8.5 inches x 12 inches x 1/4 inch

Soft cover. A beginner’s guide to Hardanger. 12 stitches are featured and diagrams and photos are excellent. 8 designs are available. An excellent reference book.

Condition: Excellent There is a small tear on a page (see picture) Smoke free, pet free home. Postage will be Media Mail $5.50 (my standard price)

Payment method: PayPal

USA shipping only

Comment “me please” below if you would like to purchase.

Hope this helps and good luck selling…

Thank You for stopping by again.

I hope you have time to stitch today and every day…

ttfn…sue

Author: sudukc

I was taught that everyday you should learn something new, so I consider myself a needle artist in training. I may have more experience in some techniques than others. I can knit (if sqares count), crochet with some degree of accuracy, and beading but only enjoy peyote and bead embroidery techniques. I am most adept with a needle and thread; temari, cross stitch, stumpwork, learning goldwork and my favorite needlepoint. But I know there are needlepointers out there who have forgotten more than I will ever learn. I was a member of the American Needlepoint Guild (ANG) for over 20 years, have completed the Fellow Level of ANG Teacher certification. I have been a member of EGA and NETA but am not at present. I also love to stitch using my computer...I have done stitch diagrams for national teachers, needlework shops and my own business sd designs. Now I am retired, but I still do original designs but am not teaching any longer. In my other life, I am a wife, mother of 3 sons, GRANDmother to nine GRANDchildren (only 3 girls here) and a GREAT (only way this word will be used in same sentence with my name) Grandmother to 4 beautiful great grandchildren ( only one girl here too).

3 thoughts on “How I sell needlework online”

  1. This is great. You are terrific. Thanks for all you do

    Sent via the Samsung Galaxy A10e, an AT&T 4G LTE smartphone

  2. Incredibly thorough! No surprise there. Stay well Sue.

    Pam Braye (chubby black lady no living in NC)

    On Tue, Sep 1, 2020 at 1:01 PM sudukc’s needleart & other musings wrote:

    > sudukc posted: “I have had a few people ask me how to do this, so I so I > am sharing how I do it. First I researched what I was selling; I Googled, I > looked on other selling sites (including EBay and Amazon). I made notes of > prices if exact match or close. I made notes o” >

Leave a comment