How do you keep multi crafting irons in the fire?

“…but for now I have not given up needlepoint, so I am off to stitch although I should practice knitting too…no needlepoint today. ”

I wrote this March 16th and even though I did go needlepoint I kept thinking about the other projects I have in the works and especially my knitting. I will never get any better if I do not practice….

I wonder, how do you handle multi crafting? Do you assign time by the day, week, project or do you do whatever suits your fancy? Do you have stitching groups you attend…knitting, beading, needlepoint; guilds you are an active member (what’s the use of joining if you are not active.); or even more classes?

I go once a week to a beading gathering, a needlepoint gathering, I am a member of a needlepoint guild. I was a member of a Fiber guild but they meet on the same evening as my beading and needlepoint groups and if I do both beading and needlepoint I am done for the day, so I dropped this membership for now.

I sometimes get overwhelmed by all the things I want to do and I have enough stash in several medias (see: https://sudukc.wordpress.com/2017/04/06/do-i-have-stash/) keep me busy in this lifetime and maybe two others.

I would love to hear from you and how you handle this needlework dilemma and I think I will post this on Facebook’s Needlepoint Nation (https://www.facebook.com/groups/NeedlepointNation/). If you don’t belong, you should, it is a wealth of information and enabling.

BTW, Friday….March 30 National Stitching-In Day. Why don’t you start now and plan to go stitch somewhere?

Thank you for stopping by, I hope you have time to stitch today.

ttfn…sue

Author: sudukc

I was taught that everyday you should learn something new, so I consider myself a needle artist in training. I may have more experience in some techniques than others. I can knit (if sqares count), crochet with some degree of accuracy, and beading but only enjoy peyote and bead embroidery techniques. I am most adept with a needle and thread; temari, cross stitch, stumpwork, learning goldwork and my favorite needlepoint. But I know there are needlepointers out there who have forgotten more than I will ever learn. I was a member of the American Needlepoint Guild (ANG) for over 20 years, have completed the Fellow Level of ANG Teacher certification. I have been a member of EGA and NETA but am not at present. I also love to stitch using my computer...I have done stitch diagrams for national teachers, needlework shops and my own business sd designs. Now I am retired, but I still do original designs but am not teaching any longer. In my other life, I am a wife, mother of 3 sons, GRANDmother to nine GRANDchildren (only 3 girls here) and a GREAT (only way this word will be used in same sentence with my name) Grandmother to 4 beautiful great grandchildren ( only one girl here too).

2 thoughts on “How do you keep multi crafting irons in the fire?”

  1. I think, like most things in life, you cannot have it all at the same time. I spent years learning to weave before needlepoint became interesting to me again. Now weaving takes a back seat. You may be overwhelmed because your focus is scattered. Maybe you learn a new skill when you need to take a break from one you’ve been immersed in.

  2. Multi crafting, does not have to be negative. We should perhaps consider it as bringing into our lives different points of view. Although I love wildflower identification, photography and watercolor, for example, I sometimes discover that these interests might help me when it comes to shading or other ideas on a specific needlework project. On the other hand, often thinking or working on a needlework project might relax me when I am facing a particular medical procedure. Without doubt, I might be especially bored if I had to force myself to only eat a sandwich and not sneak in a small bite of a cookie… well, perhaps a large bite of cookie… lol

Leave a comment