The Festival of Broken Needles (Hari-Kuyo).

Today is The Festival of Broken Needles (Hari-Kuyo).

I saved my needles from last Feb 8th to this Feb 8th had my own Festival of the Needles. Since I did not have tofo (not sweet enough for my needles) I used peach yogurt; figured I should give them a sweet send off since they had given me so much sweet stitching time. I counted them: 42 needles, didn’t realize I had stitched that many projects, but I changed needles every project and every month. I usually average about three needles a project. Of the 42 there were only two broken and one badly bent. I also kept the largest and smallest needle, the bent or broken needles until last to place in the yogurt. I drank a Thai Chia latte and ate part of the peach yogurt to celebrate as I placed them in the yogurt.

Read how many of us celebrated:

Jane at Chilly Hollow: http://chillyhollownp.blogspot.com/2012/02/hari-kuyo-festival-of-broken-needles.html

Mostly Needlepoint: http://mostlyneedlepoint.com/02/08/hari-kuyofestival-of-broken-needles/

Ridgewood Needleoint: http://ridgewoodneedlepoint.blogspot.com/

And

Plays with Needles:

http://plays-with-needles.blogspot.com/p/hari-kuyo-needlebook-e-course.html

And a needlecase class to make (I am going here next, this has been on my to-do list since I first saw it and since this is festival I deserve a present.)

http://plays-with-needles.blogspot.com/p/hari-kuyo-needlebook-e-course.html

I had another post planned for this week and maybe I will get to it later this week.

Until then…Remember the joy your needles have given you and…

Hope everyone has time to stitch today!  ttfn…sue

Author: sudukc

I was taught that everyday you should learn something new, so I consider myself a needle artist in training. I may have more experience in some techniques than others. I can knit (if sqares count), crochet with some degree of accuracy, and beading but only enjoy peyote and bead embroidery techniques. I am most adept with a needle and thread; temari, cross stitch, stumpwork, learning goldwork and my favorite needlepoint. But I know there are needlepointers out there who have forgotten more than I will ever learn. I was a member of the American Needlepoint Guild (ANG) for over 20 years, have completed the Fellow Level of ANG Teacher certification. I have been a member of EGA and NETA but am not at present. I also love to stitch using my computer...I have done stitch diagrams for national teachers, needlework shops and my own business sd designs. Now I am retired, but I still do original designs but am not teaching any longer. In my other life, I am a wife, mother of 3 sons, GRANDmother to nine GRANDchildren (only 3 girls here) and a GREAT (only way this word will be used in same sentence with my name) Grandmother to 4 beautiful great grandchildren ( only one girl here too).

3 thoughts on “The Festival of Broken Needles (Hari-Kuyo).”

  1. I must be a total oddball: I don’t throw away a needle unless it breaks, and that hasn’t happened in over three years.

    1. I am hard on needles; the eyes get out of shape; they bend and discolor. I just find it eaiser and safer to replace every project or when the eyes become mis-shaped or the needle bends.

Leave a comment