No April Fool

This is not an April Fool’s joke…I’m going to try and get back to blogging.

It was last July that I posted my last blog and I have no reason why I stopped blogging. I can tell you that this is not as easy for me as it seems for others, I struggle with every post. I mentioned this at a stitch-in last week and said I was having difficulty getting back to blogging and that it was not easy for me to write. Someone said they enjoyed the blog and I needed to do it again. So here I am. I do have lots to share with you.

After I had my knee done last March 2016, my friend came home from Hong Kong and we ran around all summer learning new things (it was great exercise for my knee) …I’ll share some as we go along. I made a beaded tassel, a beaded necklace, kumihimo brading, a wool needlepunch flower, learned to needlefelt and crochet. Went antiquing, ate well and also tried to stitch with friends at least once a week.  Soooo busy running around, learning new things or having fun that something had to give and it was finishing and blogging.  My friend went back to Hong Kong in the fall and then I had to get ready for the holidays and then I had my second knee replaced…

So since I last blogged I have had both my knees replaced and so I can go-go-go. One knee was a year ago, March 2016 and the other just last January 2017. Good thing they were replaced in the order they were…first knee was much easier than second… But I am on the road to recovery and am getting around.

I took a crochet class last year.  I knew how to crochet but was self-taught and figured I’d taught myself some bad habits.  I found out other than the fact that I hate to ripe out and would rather adapt, I was doing it correctly. I learned when I was young (21 years old) and must have followed the written instructions pretty well. I  should have! I wrote all the instructions for that baby blanket out in long hand before stitching. I remember because my best friend was expecting her daughter and I wanted to make her a special baby blanket.  I knew I wanted it to be granny squares (only because I knew what the finished product should look like) and so I bought all this baby yarn (more than I needed)  and thought I would have my grandmother teach me how to crochet. Grandma lived with us but she didn’t know how to crochet…my aunt did but she had just left for a month in Europe, so I decided to teach myself. I was so intimidated by the instructions, they were written in code…5 sc , join with ss to make ring. Clusters:  3 sc, 4 dc in ring, 2 sc, * 3 dc in ring, repeat 3 times , ss to 3rd ss of 1st cluster. Tie off.. Oh my gosh, I wrote every instruction out in long hand for the whole blanket! Then I would stitch, take it out  and re-stitch until it looked like the granny square afghan in our family room.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI’ve come a long way, now I can read a pattern (not always correctly) and I can sometimes even crochet correctly, but I can make a finished product in a reasonable amount of time. This is the poncho I finished last fall…and yes I creatively adapted the instructions. And BTW, it looks better on me than on this hanger.

This year I am going to try and learn to knit, I’ve tried before but not very successfully, so when my friend moves home this time for good from HongKong we are going to learn to knit among other things yet unknown. Life will be a bit calmer since my friend is not going back to Hong Kong and we can go at a slower pace.

So, as we go along and I gather my thoughts and take a few pictures I will share with you some of the things I did last year as well as some of the things I am stitching now. And I know, one of these days I need to get back to finishing again, I still have bunches of stuff to finish and keep stitching more.

But today I want to also thank you for stopping by to read my blog again. AND… I hope you have time to stitch today! And that’s no April Fool’s joke

ttfn…sue

5 thoughts on “No April Fool

  1. When you learn to knit learn the German or European way. You do not have to look most of the time. I have taught myself everything.. mostly quite well but not knitting

  2. It’s so nice to have you back in blogdom, Sue! I learned to knit before I learned how to needlepoint (and that’s been 45 years), so if I can do it, you can do it!

Leave a Reply

