Sh-h-h-h Part II

15-02-06 library parking garageOh I forgot to mention that a visit to the main library is an experience in itself. Even the parking garage is a work of art. The front looks like books, even the steps are books and on the side is a huge mural by 15-02-06 library parking garage blocal artist Bob Holloway of the Nelson Art Gallery and local historic figures. I had never noticed before that this picture is a combination of two areas at the gallery: the main hall (large columns and the balconies are Rozzelle Court.)

 

15-02-06 library entranceThe library is the old First 15-02-06 library main hallNational Bank Building. Just the front doors are impressive, but all the architecture is just beautiful and the antiques are great too. I remind myself that these antiques are like Christmas trees; on the lot that 15-02-06 library 3&4beautiful tree looks wonderful, when you get it home you have to cut 6 inches off the bottom just to get 15-02-06 library antiqueit to stand up in the room. These antiques look great in the library but I don’t own a home big enough to house them.

15-02-06 library clockEvery floor of the library has an antique clock, my favorites are the one in the main lobby and then there is a Arts and Craft clock in a meeting room (the room was locked and dark…no picture)

I just love old buildings; someday I am going to just drive around town and take pictures of the architecture in Kansas 15-02-06 building 1bCity. There is so much Art Deco and 15-02-06 building 1Arts and Craftsmen style. Notice some of the buildings of downtown…I thought of the song from Oklahoma when looking at them…”They went and built a skyscraper seven stories high“….and then looks like they add floors to some of these.

15-02-06 building 2aI’ve noticed that since I have been on this quest to be more inspired I have begun to see more. I am grateful my DH likes to go with me and drive.  I think my head is on a swivel (and I would be a hazard on 15-02-06 building 3athe road if I were driving) and I can’t see everything as we drive by and DH is so patient he will even go around the block so I can see again.

Thank you for stopping by to visit, I hope you find time to stitch today or do whatever helps you be creative! ttfn…sue

P.S. My creative block seems to have subsided for now…next week I’ll have a little stitching to share.

Leave a Reply

