Sh-h-h-h Part 1

I’m actually going to try and post several times this week; otherwise this post will be too long. I have been inspiring myself weekly and I will share with you to catch you up. Some (today’s post is no longer available to see but of the others are still open and what’s best is they are free)

Have you ever noticed how quiet an art gallery or library is? And it is a different quiet than when you are home alone without the distraction of TV or computers. It’s like the quiet of a mountain retreat or a quiet day sitting at the lake, a special quiet that is so peaceful and relaxing even when looking at art that does not appeal to you or reading a thrilling book can disturb.

My visits to the art gallery and libraries started last fall when a friend told me about an art show at the Kansas City Public Library Main Branch. (see https://sudukc.wordpress.com/2014/10/24/creative-week-but-no-photos/) The Jason Pollen exhibit, Unfurled was a two part show and lecture. Unfurled, Part 1, spoke to me and I became an instant fan (I knew at this first show I needed to know more about this artist.) I made my husband miss the start of the first game of the World Series (Royals vs Giants) so I could attend Jason Pollen talk at the library and it was worth every minute. I could hardly wait for Unfurled Part 2 to begin and when it did I went the second week (would have gone to the opening but was feeling like I was one sneeze away from the flu and did not want to expose people to 15-02-03 Flag-Peace sdmy germs.) Jason Pollen also had an art show in his home/gallery and I did not miss this either. In fact I am the proud owner of a Jason Pollen flag ( I call it “Peace” ). It hangs in my stitching nest with my Fritzi Brod (https://sudukc.wordpress.com/2014/09/12/fritzi-brod-my-favorite-artist/)  and I look at them every day.

I r15-02-03 Shiftealized, given a the chance I could be a Jason Pollen groupie.  I would love to take a class from him and regret that I did not when he was teaching at The Kansas City Art Institute; I think he would have been a very nurturing and inspiring teacher.  I liked many of the works, but I really loved the pieces he created using silk with fussed fabrics (Tierra Luminosa, Tierra Verde and Shift 15-02-03  Flicker I{pictured}).  The reflective aspect that he created by fussing fabrics together and hanging so the light played 15-02-03  Flicker IIoff of the art work and created an ever changing piece were spectacular. I could see myself sitting in front of one of these and being completely relaxed and inspired.  I like his mobiles too (Flicker and Flicker II); 15-02-03 Notebooksthey were free moving, ever changing and fun! (I found myself wondered how I could adapt this idea to needlepoint.)  In Unfurled Part 2 he displayed his sketch books; I think these would be very interesting to look through… I think you would be inspired beyond belief. Another piece that spoke to me was Thirty Days. Jason Pollen “hit an artistic wall, unable to identify what to create next or even 15-02-03 Thirty dayshow to create it.” He made himself come to the art, studying line, color tint and shade by making a linear foot a day for 30 days. It reminded me of the doodle cloths we so often speak about making in the needlepoint world but seldom start let alone complete.

In fact the Jason Pollen Exhibits is what made me realize that I had probably been missing a world of wonder that was mine just for the looking. So one of my goals is to keep my eyes and ears open to the exhibits that are going on around me. I listen to the morning news and read the paper and local magazines for exhibits at the art galleries and libraries I have overlooked in past years few years. I try to do something every week and then I also get a lunch in the bargain.

More later this week, I have some interesting things I’ve seen.

And I do find time to stitch just nothing very interesting right now. I think I’m in a dry spell and have had a couple inspirational failures…it happens to all of us.

Thank you for stopping by, I hope you find time to stitch today! ttfn…sue

Leave a Reply

