Baseball and Needlepoint

What does a needlepointer do to relax and remain calm…she stitches.  And that’s what I did this last week. The Boys in Blue (Kansas City Royals) were playing baseball…

Vickie De Angelis (http://mostlyneedlepoint.com/) is truly is more of a baseball fan than I am but this past week I was glued to my television. The boys in Blue were making a run for the pennant and I was like a proud grandparent chewing my nails and pacing. I lost sleep, three games went into extra innings (nothing compared to the national league game San Francisco and Washington Nationals…but I watched part of this one too.)

14-10-06 RoyalsAfter the do or die game with the A’s (my second favorite team) I knew I had to do something besides sit like a bump on a log. Of course I could have picked any piece from my stash and there are many of these but they were not Royals related. So with my trusty computer I quickly drew (computer) up this design and by the first playoff game with LA Angels was stitching. I only stitched this piece during Royals games…yes, I have my own superstitions.  Last night, the Boys in Blue swept the series and I put my last stitch in my needlepoint. Happy dancing all around.

Now we are off to Baltimore (they also swept their series with Detroit) and I am sure these games are going to be the better than the last. So now I have to have something for this series too, but I have until Friday to figure this out.

So if you need a team to root for Eric Horne says it better than I (http://newsok.com/5-reasons-the-kansas-city-royals-are-worth-rooting-for-in-the-mlb-playoffs/article/5347784)

GO ROYALS!

Thank you for stopping by, I hope you find time to stitch today! ttfn…sue

2 thoughts on “Baseball and Needlepoint

  1. Did you needle-blend the blue background, Sue, or is the darker blue at the top just a camera shadow? Great baseball!

Leave a Reply

