Happy and Safe Forth of July

14-07-04 flag

Hope Everyone celebrates a Happy and Safe Forth of July.

This is  a flag I stitched a couple years ago. I intended to hang it vertically until my husband told me that it was stitched wrong to hang vertically. I thought I was a pretty patriotic person but I did not know the flag hanging vertically should have the “union” (blue part) hanging to the observer’s left. Guess I never thought about it since hanging horizontally the “Union” is to the  observer’s left also…I just figured you turn the flag clockwise, otherwise, it is seems to me you are looking at the flag from the wrong side.   Anyway, now we display my flag horizontally and one of these days I’ll stitch it again so I can hang it vertically…maybe I’ll chart it then too.

If you’re interested here are links to flge display: http://www.ushistory.org/betsy/more/displayonly.htm

and flag etiquette: http://www.usflag.org/flagetiquette.html

Be safe today I hope you have time to stitch today!

Happy Birthday America!

…sue

Leave a Reply

