Mardi Gras

The week-end was COLD and not so snowy. We were supposed to get 8-10 inches but it passed us by and left us with 2-3 inches of snow combined with some sleet. It just got bitter, bitter cold; so I stitched under my heating blanket. Today were are having a heat wave of sorts up to freezing and headed for the spring temps next week…AND none too soon I might add.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERABut today is Mardi Gras, “Laissez les bons temps!”  New Orleans is one of my favorite places, they know how to party, eat and eat…and if I were young again I would be there. But every Fat Tuesday and  fix a pot of Gumbo…one of my favorite foods. I have two well used cookbooks from New Orleans Recipes and Reminiscences of New Orleans Vol 1 & 2. (hum wonder if there is a third will have to look later)  I love these cookbooks and use them often. The gumbo recipe is from these cookbooks.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAEver hear of a Roux spoon? My niece brought this back to me from Polly’s Island three or four years ago and I love it. It has a flat side is wonderful when making roux or any type of thickened sauce. I use it all the time when making creamed soups and sauces. Don’t know how I lived without this spoon for so many years.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAHere is my gumbo…will wait until this afternoon to add the shrimp. Since my shrimp don’t come with their heads on I have to improvise. I wait and add at last minute so they don’t get tough. Now before all you New Orleans purists start complaining…please remember I am a Midwest girl trying to cook Cajun food. I can’t make pralines or beignets because I am not at sea level and I know that has something to do with making them so yummy. Mirleton do not grow wild here so I haven’t had a seafood stuffed Mirleton in years. And my French bread is not as good as yours either…So if any of you wonderful Southern people would like to send me pralines, beignets and stuffed Mirleton …I promise to eat them all by myself and not share with any other Midwesterner who doesn’t know what they are missing.

My Mardi Gras display is not much, guess I’ll have to add a mask to my to-do list. Like I have time for this…well a girl can dream.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Val the Valentine girl (https://sudukc.wordpress.com/2014/01/22/first-entry-of-2014-playing-catch-up-already/ ) would not get in her box when she saw Nick the Mardi Gras man (https://sudukc.wordpress.com/2013/02/12/laissez-les-bons-temps-roule/) so they are partying hardy in the collections case until the rabbits arrive next week for the Easter holidays.

So I since dinner is ready I see a nap, stitching and a good movie in my future today. I am still working on the Mom and Me border but will have something to share later this week…I hope (depends on how much nap I get)

Thank you for stopping by and I hope you have time to stitch today and Laissez les bons temps! ttfn…sue

Leave a Reply

