Asian Collage Completed and an inspirational day

Happy Dance… a very happy dance!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAsian Collage is quilted and finally finished, framed and almost hung…Oh did I luck into a deal. Took piece to a Hobby Lobby looking for black bamboo frame (I had been several other places too). I hate it when I get an idea in my head how I want something OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAfinished and I can’t find it. Well anyway, here I am at Hobby Lobby, they had a wide bamboo (about 1.5 inches) black molding.  The lovely lady in the frame shop is measuring my piece for the matting and frame when all of a sudden she says, “Honey, you know if I make these mat just a bit smaller you could use a premade frame and I think there is a black one over there that would look very nice, but it’s not bamboo.” So over she goes and back she comes with this frame and lays it on the mats and needlework. Then she says, ‘Honey, this frame will save you over a hundred dollars.”…well bamboo was my choice and “Honey” is not my name or favorite term of address; but a bargain is a bargain. So I asked her how long it would take to get my mattings cut (thinking minimum one week) and when she said 15 minutes and I could take everything home.  I was sold, a quick turn around and a bargain too, who could ask for anything more and you can call me “Honey.” So this is my under $50.00 finish!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And then this week end my local guild held their Christmas Party and it was wonderful! The program was Victoria Crowder Payne. She is one of those talented, inspirational, creative people who, if you are luck, will pass through your life more than once. She shared the store of her creative and personal life with us and shared her work as well as her project and sketch books. If you have a few hours, grab a cuppa tea and visit: http://freedomofstitch.com/ AND http://www.fearlessstudio.com/. I am off to grab my cuppa(s) and visit these again to see if I missed anything on my first visit.

Only 15 days left until Christmas, I think I should start my shopping. I just hope it warms up, single digit temperatures just make me want to snuggle in and stitch.

Thank you for stopping by, I hope you have time to stitch today!

ttfn…sue

4 thoughts on “Asian Collage Completed and an inspirational day

Leave a Reply

