You play you pay

You know the saying you play you pay…I do, all too well this last two weeks. I worked, played, rested, played and now am paying….

A week ago I ran out of thread for the Value of Gray pieces I am stitching and so I had to order more. I was dead in the water with the project until I got them…so I ordered them.

And wasn’t too worried because I knew he threads would be here the following Monday and they were and in the meantime DH and I went to PSU: Pittsburg State College; Pittsburg KS (http://www.pittstate.edu/) for homecoming and a reunion at the Newman Club (http://catholicgorillas.org/); it was also the 100 anniversary of the Newman Club (second oldest organization on campus…school newspaper is older). We have many fond memories of Pittsburg Ks when life was simpler and we were younger.

13-10-15 PSU gusOn our way back to Gorilla country, we laughed about our housing…out first home if you let a package of marbles loose on the floor they would have picked up momentum and if they hit you would have probably killed you. It was a fun apartment with all its idiosyncrasies: our only closets were in the living area…the bathroom was the biggest room in the apartment and our kitchen barely held one person(my kind of kitchen).But it was our first home together.  We knew this place would be gone…someone had surly bought it up and replaced it with a six-plex or maybe the college had even annexed it to expand.

But we knew our second apartment would still be there, it was college housing on the far east side of campus and we were going to stop by and give the occupants a surprise gift $40 for a dinner out. WELL, what a surprise awaited us! The first house was still standing (by the grace of God only) and had six mailboxes on the front porch…we had two families there when we were there. And our married dorms had been torn down and were being replaced by a performing arts center…progress.  What a shock…it left us kinda wondering what other surprises the week-end would bring.

This did not to spoil our week end … We stopped by the Newman Center (renamed St Pius X Catholic Student Center)  and we pleasantly surprised to see activity…DH had stopped by a few times in the last 40 years and there was little or no activity. The place was alive with young people scurrying around to make this reunion one of the best. Father Adam Keiter is the chaplain and relates so well to the kids. We introduced ourselves and looked around and then headed to our hotel.

We ate dinner at Jim’s Steak House…couldn’t have afforded this when we were in school, but the steak was terrific…you could cut it with a fork. Saturday brought a drizzle but did not stop the parade…but today’s college people need a class on what constitutes a parade float… it is not a pick-up truck with chairs! There were probably two good floats in the entire parade but lots of great high school bands and fire departments from every town around.

13-10-15 PSU football

And the game, well it could not have been better! Is always fun to be at a college football game, especially when you win; there is so much spirit. Go Gorillas!

13-10-11 PSU yearbk aAfter the game was the reunion at the Newman Center; mass followed by a dinner and lots of reminiscing. We saw old friends we hadn’t seen in years and poured over the year books like we were 13-10-15 PSU yearbk bstill there. It was a fun time and lasted well past my bedtime.

Mike and I were up early Sunday and did some sight-seeing and had breakfast at Harry’s diner…home of the cinnamon roll. We wanted to bring a Gus home with us but the garden center was not open Sunday…(oh well, I see a road trip and another dinner at Jim’s in my future)

And believe it or not, I took no stitching with me to homecoming…so by Sunday afternoon, back home, I had to get my stitch fix. I had started one of my OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERARaymond Crawford pieces but was not happy with it so I “Frog stitched” first and then re-stitched starting with the leaves…And well, one thing lead to another, the stitches just seemed to fall onto the canvas. I like canvases like this that just seem to fall into stitches…and this week have completed the center portion. And I have the threads and stiches in my mind for the rest of this piece…I just love it when canvas, threads and stitches fall onto the canvas.

Values of Gray has fallen behind and I will have to work like crazy to catch up…although this is impossible…like recovering lost sleep, never happens. I let all my work slide and just played… sometimes you just gotta do what feels right. Now I am torn between work and fun…guess you’ll just have to wait until next week to see how I sort our this dilemma …How do you sort out your dilemmas of work or fun?

Thank you for stopping by, I hope you have time to stitch today! (I have plenty work and fun)

ttfn…sue

One thought on “You play you pay

Leave a Reply

