What’s on the label

I’ve been stitching my value samples and I started looking closely at the floss labels I am using (Anchor, DMC, Finca and Sullivans). Each has their own way of presenting themselves and three of the four have these little symbols, so I decided to investigate and do a bit of research (stuff in my files from distributor or manufacturer.) What I found is as follows:

Anchor

Research: 100% premium long-staple Egyptian Giza Cotton.

Label: 6 strand 100% mercerized cotton. Color Fast. Made in Hungary. 8 meters

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Symbols on label: (left-right):
Tub with number and line underneath: Wash permapress (95 degrees Celsius or 200 degrees Fahrenheit)
Triangle with diagonal lines: Only non-chlorine bleach when needed
Square with circle and an X: Dry do not tumble dry
Iron with 3 dots: Maximum temperature 200 degrees Celsius or 390 degrees Fahrenheit High
Circle with P: Dryclean any solvent except Trichloroethylene
Circle with double arrows: recycle symbol

DMC
Research: Long staple Double mercerized, Color Fast.

Label: 6 strand 100% cotton. Made in France 8 meters (8.7 yds),

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Symbols on label: (left-right):
Circle with double arrows: recycle symbol
Tub with number and line underneath: Wash permapress (95 degrees Celsius or 200 degrees Fahrenheit)
Triangle with CL inside: Chlorine bleach allowed (/Wikipedia says this is obsolete)
Iron with 2 dots: Maximum temperature 150 degrees Celsius or 300 degrees Fahrenheit Medium
Circle with P: Dryclean any solvent except Trichloroethylene
Square with circle and an X: Dry do not tumble dry
Finca

Research: 100% long staple Egyptian cotton. Mercerized. Color Fast. Bleachfast Shrinkfast

Label: 6 strand 100% Egyptian cotton. Color Fast. Made in Spain 8 meters (8.75yds)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Symbols on label: None

Sullivans:
Research: 100% long staple Egyptian cotton, color fast, fade resistant.

Label: 6 strand 100% Egyptian cotton. Color Fast. Made in China 8.7 yds.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Symbols on label: (left-right):
Tub with number and line underneath: Wash permapress (95 degrees Celsius or 200 degrees Fahrenheit)
Triangle blank inside: Any bleach when needed
Circle with two dots: Dry medium heat (Note really did not find the actual symbol but found circle with 2 dots to mean medium heat.
Iron with 2 dots: Maximum temperature 150 degrees Celsius or 300 degrees Fahrenheit Medium
Square with circle and an P: Dry clean any solvent except Trichloroethylene

I thought this was very interesting, especially if you use 2 different flosses in the same design be sure and use the lower of the two settings recommended. Also I will tell you that when I was in St. Charles I saw a stitched sample of Finca threads that was reported to have been soaked in chlorine bleach for a long time and the colors had not bled nor faded. I personally would not try this on a finished work until I had personally experimented on my own…but I don’t plan on spilling anything either. I am a firm believer of food and drink not mixing with needles and thread.
And if you would like to research you labels try: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Laundry_symbol
Or just google the symbol.

I’m off to JoAnn’s to see if I can find a ribbon to finish my value scales and I hope to have these to show you first of next week.
Thank you for stopping by and I hope you have time to stitch today!
ttfn…sue

Leave a Reply

