OMGosh…Surprise, surprise, surprise

This week-end DH handed me a brown envelope addressed to me, but I wasn’t expecting anything (already had all I was expecting); so I asked him what’s this. His reply was a typical DH remark; “Must be something you ordered.” Knowing he was probably correct I opened the envelope and inside was Mary Engelbreit’s OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAFan Fare Cookbook: 120 Dessert Favorites. Still no recollection of ordering this, but since my birthday is in August and I love desserts, I figured someone had sent me a nice birthday gift. Inside the front cover (had not noticed the autograph yet) was a letter (ah, a clue); so I began to read…”Dear Contributor,”… OMGosh, this took my breath away and I sat down to continue reading. At OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAfirst I thought maybe someone near and dear to me had submitted a recipe in my name. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASo after my initial surprise I looked through the cookbook to find my recipe and sure enough almost smack dab in the middle of the book, there it was. As I read the recipe and short story OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAaccompanying the recipe I realized this was me and I obviously had sent the recipe (the wording sounded just like me). I did not remember this at all, but my recipe was one of the 120 chosen and here I was in a Mary Engelbreit publication. I can’t tell you how surprised, humbled and dumbfounded I was…Awesome!

13-07-29 ME indian
I have always been a big fan of Mary Engelbreit (http://www.maryengelbreit.com/); I have several of her cards framed and hanging in my hallway. My first framed card came from a good friend’s daughter, Katie Bax who lived in St Louis and worked at a Mary Engelbreit store and knew I love her artwork so she bought me a card and had Mary autograph it for me.13-07-29ME journal I have books (surprise, surprise), boxes, sewing items, Santa’s, Christmas plates and Good to be the Queen things; my project journals are ME Good to be the Queen journals and I have every issue of Home Companion magazine Mary published…I still miss this publication…it was so creative.
Do I sound like a Mary Engelbreit groupie? Well I guess it is as close as I get to being a groupie…I don’t think of myself as a groupie but more as an admirer of an extremely talented lady who expresses the beauty of the world around her. Her artwork lifts me up and makes me smile.
Mary doesn’t like to cook and although I don’t mind cooking I rather needlepoint and draw than cook…Mary Engelbeit’s saying about cooking is one of my two favorites: “If my family had to depend on me for food, they would starve to death in a really cute kitchen.” The other quote is from Sharon Garmize, another very talented needlepoint lady (http://www.sharong.com/): “I only have a kitchen because it came with the house.”
And so, I have spent an evening reading a cookbook from cover to cover. Good thing you don’t absorb calories by reading because I would have absorbed a bunch. There are some really great dessert recipes in this book but the stories that accompany each of these recipes are the best, it makes them so personal. I know this cookbook will become a family favorite. And I am humbled to have been included.
Think I’ll get a stand for it in my kitchen, maybe a stand under glass to protect it…I know I’ve gone too far…I am hoping my head and chest stop swelling (with humble pride and awesomeness) so I can get back to work; but every time I see the book I get excited all over again.
Thank you for stopping by and I hope you have time to stitch today! I’m going to try…
ttfn…sue

5 thoughts on “OMGosh…Surprise, surprise, surprise

Leave a Reply

