Voila another finished needlepoint piece

I finished, finished my shamrock piece this week and I really like it. Of course now I am siting twittering my thumbs. Not really, but it is a vision isn’t it…me twittering my thumbs?

And before I continue I am not endorsing any designer or shop nor is this a commercial for anyone designer or shop. I receive nothing from them but we all know it takes a community to get our designs from our mind to the finished product.

The design was a birthday gift from my friend, Joan Lewis (http://www.joansneedlepoint.com/index.htm ); she had painted it for a customer and I loved it, so she did one for my birthday. I’m not sure it is on her website but she will paint one for you.

The box is frosted glass box. Mine is forever old but I think you can still get from Framecraft in England or I did post online about them and these shops answered me that they have them in stock: (no prefered order…only the order I received them)

The Designer’s Desk; Pat or Donna; 216 James Street; Historic Geneva, IL 60134; www.designersdeskusa.com; email: ddesk1@aol.com; 630-262-1234; 1-800-377-8087.

Thistle Needleworks, Inc.; Judie, 1005 Hebron Avenue; Glastonbury, CT 06033; 860-633-8503; 860-633-1851 (fax); 800-NDLWRKS (635-9757) (out-of-state orders); ThisNeedle@aol.com; www.ThistleNeedleworks.com.

Threadneedle Street; Marianne Bergson, Owner; 75-645 Dempsey Drive; Palm Desert, CA 92211; (760) 340-0411; threadst@aol.com<threadst@aol.com>;

Step by step finishing:  I did it and I’m so proud of myself…finishing is not really my deal.

13-03-14 finish #3My box came with a paper insert template and so I cut another out of lightweight cardstock. I cut it about 1/8th inch smaller than paper template to compensate for the thickness of canvas and stitching.

I cut the canvas about 1 inch from the stitched design. I also cut a piece of lining (because I had used an open stitch and my cardstock was bright white…I wanted a softer look) I also cut a piece of OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAthin batting the size of my cardstock for slight padding.

I knew I was going to clip around the circle so I could turn tabs back smoothly;  so I basted the lining to the canvas next to the outside stitching edge of the design area. When I clip the canvas and lining the lining will stay attached to the canvas.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA13-03-14 finish #4aI laced the canvas and lining to the cardstock starting at the top and bottom, then side to side and finally around the curves. I clipped my tabs as I went but you could clip the canvas and lining first and then stitch. How I stitched mine is numbering diagram on the right. (Even thought the picture does not look this way…some helpful elves clipped my original stitching after I had it wedged into the lid so I quickly redid in clockwise fashion…not sure I even got all the tabs second time.)

Pressed the metal liner (this came with my jar) in the frame. It locks the needlework in place and it 13-03-14 finish #5was difficult to get locked in place. then I attached the felt piece (also came with jar, but any felt or ultra-suede would do.) to give it a finished appearance…

And Voila another finished needlepoint piece.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Thank you for stopping by and I hope you have time to stitch today!
ttfn…sue

2 thoughts on “Voila another finished needlepoint piece

Leave a Reply

