Hari-Kuyo, February 8,2013

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAToday is Hari-Kuyo, I am not sure if it is a festival or a more solemn memorial service. I would prefer to think of it as a festival, since I really like my stitching and it brings me joy. So this year I celebrated with another cup of my favorite tea but I only had two broken needles this year. So I decided to place them permanently in my new needle book because I broke them making this book and as they will be a constant reminder that all my needles deserve to be remembered and honored. I also placed the two other needles I used making this book in places of honor in the book. You know since I wrote about this festival last year (https://sudukc.wordpress.com/2012/02/08/the-festival-of-broken-needles-hari-kuyo/) I have really been conscious of the needles I am using and how really important they are to my art.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI know this may sound way out there but really sometimes I think my needle really makes my stitching happen. I have caught myself stitching in my sleep (that is falling asleep while stitching) and yet my needle has found the correct spot to place the stitches…no frog stitching this time.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAnd have you ever thought how we would do our art metal needle had not been invented? Porcupine quills and fir quills would have been our needles of choice, maybe someone would have thought about a bone or a stick.

So today don’t forget to thank your needles for all they OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAhave done for you over the past year.

I am also linking to Plays with Needles and Susan’s blog (http://www.plays-with-needles.blogspot.com/2013/02/happy-harikuyo.html) about Hari-Kuyo and sheOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA has graciously linked us all together so in essence we are having a blogging Hari-Kuyo.

Thank you for stopping by and I hope you have time to stitch today!
ttfn…sue

2 thoughts on “Hari-Kuyo, February 8,2013

  1. This post was beautiful Sue. I can just see you falling asleep while your needle still finds its way. Kind of like when the cobbler slept and the elves did the work. You must have put a lot of spirit and soul into your stitching to have the needle keep going after you’ve lost consciousness. May you be blessed with many beautiful stitches in the next year. Susan

  2. Pingback: Hari Kuyo: Broken Needle Celebration | sudukc's needleart & other musings

Leave a Reply

