Susan Elliot’s class: Hari-Kuyo Needlebook

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
I had another blog planned this week but I am so-o-o proud of myself I need to share this with everyone and especially Susan Elliot who write Plays with Needles blog (.http://plays-with-needles.blogspot.com/) Susan is an incredibly wonderful creative stitcher and shares her talent with family and friends all the time. It is one of my favorite blogs to follow.

Last year she offered her first online class for Hari-Kuyo Needlebook (http://www.plays-with-needles.blogspot.com/p/harikuyo-needlebook-e-course-ii.html). I signed up immediately and even blogged about it March 10th (https://sudukc.wordpress.com/category/classes/everything-begins-at-a-point/hari-kuyo-everything-begins-at-a-point/). I kept up with all the embroidery as my world was falling apart last spring.
This fall Susan offered a second online class and I posted a comment about having all the stitching completed and how well organized I though the class had been. Susan graciously invited me to join the group again but I still did not get the finishing completed over the holidays. I have definitely decided I am not as multi-tasking as I used to be.

And now Susan s offering this class anytime…and I recommend it to anyone. And another great thing is she is offering different kit choices.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
I had been mulling around in my mind that I would like to attempt to put the book together using just a hand stitching and so I made a few adjustments.
First I stitched the outside decorations by hand and attached the felt pages to the OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAinside piece with wrapped backstitches using 3 ply floss of the appropriate color.
I then laced the front and back pieces to light weight card stock and then hand sewed the two pieces together attaching the tie to one of the pieces so it would be between the layers. The material around my felt pom-poms is a bit larger than 13-01-15 needles b
recommended but I could not get them to gather like I wanted any other way.
I am finished and I did it all myself with hand stitching and I even placed the two needles I used to stitch this entire project on their appropriate pages in places of honor where they shall remain. I also need to find a “Sashiko” needle. I plan on leaving this out until February 8th to OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
remind me how important my needles are to me. And when I do decide to place it with my other stitch collection pieces it will receive a place of honor. It is one of my favorite pieces! Thank you Susan!
Thank you for stopping by and I hope you have time to stitch today!
ttfn…sue
13-01-15 inside

One thought on “Susan Elliot’s class: Hari-Kuyo Needlebook

  1. Bravo!! Imagine my delight when I saw your note in my inbox. Where there is a will there’s a way!! All by hand! I am impressed with how beautifully you’ve constructed your little book, making it your own the whole way. It’s really lovely Sue and I’m glad you enjoyed the class. I’m also glad that you were kind to yourself and took the time you needed to finish it the way you wanted. Thank you so very much for playing and creating. It’s a wonderful finish! xo Susan

Leave a Reply

