My Day at Lego Discovery Center

I know this isn’t needlework related but it was so cool I just have to share it.

About a week ago, my grandson was asked (actually he signed up and was chosen. He is one of 25 children ages 9-12 years of age out of over 100 that signed up) to be part of the Lego Guinness World Record attempt (and they did it! 🙂 )Here’s a story about it: http://www.facebook.com/ldckansascity  or http://www.kctv5.com/story/20106274/area-kids-attempt-lego-world-record-brick-by-brick)

AND he asked me if I would like to go with him and his father…How can you refuse an invite like this!? There was one small hitch; we had to be at Lego Discovery Center at 5:15 A.M.

I went and I’m so glad I did, it was not only great for him but I had the best time too! How often do you get to go to Lego and have the whole place almost to yourself?  While my grandson was in a room breaking a world record I got to walk around the Lego displays and take it all in and snap a few pictures too. It was like having the entire place to myself and it was just too cool!

My mother used to say I was a bird and lived in a tree; I told my kids this when special things happened to them and now they tell their kids this too. And guess what.. that bird is at Lego land… he must be ours!

Our Lego Discovery Center has a room with our town built in Legos…I was like a kid in a toy store…look here, look here and there too…it was so-o-o-o cool. The Power and Light building even had the changing color top I remembered from my childhood. The Plaza is decorated with working Christmas lights for the holidays, the Nelson Art Gallery, the new Kaufman Music Center, the Catholic Cathedral complete with gold spire, Train station, Liberty Memorial and so much more. All our sports centers are built, Starlight Theater, President Truman’s home and even the Land of Oz. and the room changes from daylight to nighttime with fireworks over the one of the sport stadiums. Lego cars drive on the streets, a Lego train runs through town, a boat floats down the river, fountains have water, and …I think no matter how many times you are lucky enough to visit you will see something new.

And there were Lego figures of people, animals, pictures and even benches. I just couldn’t get over how really amazing this place is in the relatively small area it is built. I won’t load all the pictures here but you can look  at My flicker account if you want  see our early morning at Lego Discovery Center. Try links below or click on icon to the right: http://www.flickr.com/photos/sudukc/ or http://www.flickr.com/photos/sudukc/sets/72157632020412308/

Now I am going to get some work completed, take a nap, and stitch the evening away. I’ve had a great day and it’s only 3 o’clock in the afternoon!

Thank you for stopping by and I hope you have time to stitch today!
ttfn…sue

Leave a Reply

