Wilanna Bristow

Yesterday I rea in the EGA newsletter (also printed below) that Wilanna Bristow had passed away. Wilnna was my first national teacher. The class was a design notebook class; “Design, Everything begins at a Point”.  Today, I have a great notebook reference on design and wonderful memories of my first national seminar. Thank you Wilanna for sharing you knowledge about color and design. I still pull color and design ideas from magazines, take pictures and keep other ongoing notebooks on color and design.

No one ever told me that most notebook classes seldom have a finished product and so I diligently pursued my design to an end. I showed Wilanna the finished notebook when she came to Kansas City to teach and she told me few people finish a project for a notebook class but this was a good example of how an original idea changes and becomes its own design. The design has a few flaws that after all these years even I can see, but it is a great cover for my class notebook.

Started with picture of the tulips and decided to do stylized design…Somewhere I decided that a color wheel would be good and so the stylized tulip became the stylized color wheel…This was in the beginning days of my computer learning and I played with the design on the computer. Knew I wanted very little or no compensation so I adjusted the tulips even more. And finally the finished project…a cover for my notebook class.

Thank you Wilanna.

Hope everyone has time to stitch today!  ttfn…sue

Wilanna Bristow: From EGA mailing list: It is with deep sadness that I report the passing of Wilanna Bristow. Wilanna was the last of the three founding members of the San Antonio Chapter. Although she has not been active for several years, she will be sorely missed by our chapter members and EGA members across the country who were touched by her talents as designer, teacher, and mentor. Her obituary may be viewed here:

http://www.legacy.com/obituaries/sanantonio/obituary.aspx?n=wilanna-bristow <http://www.legacy.com/obituaries/sanantonio/obituary.aspx?n=wilanna-bristow
&pid=155266037&fhid=5701> &pid=155266037&fhid=5701

or http://tinyurl.com/88be5km

If you knew Wilanna, please take a moment and sign the on-line guest book. I know Bill and Lizzy will appreciate it very much. In lieu of flowers, memorial contributions can be made to: The Embroiders’ Guild of America, Inc., <http://www.egausa.org> http://www.egausa.org.

One thought on “Wilanna Bristow

Leave a Reply

