Tis that time of year…

It is that time of year…I have this theory about the shopping malls and parking lots this time of year…I think that somewhere in every city there are buildings (more than two or three) full of cars and robots that are only activated between Thanksgiving and Christmas Eve (around Easter they release about 1/3 of these robots and cars) …these robots look like you and me except they never smile and they rush here and there. Most are carrying packages, and pushing and shoving around the malls. Their cars are parked in every parking spot in the mall lot and only one robot (okay sometimes two, but never more than three) to a car. They will cut right in front of you to get a parking space and then wave at you with one finger. (I think most of these robots only have one finger on each hand and I’m hoping it is the “HI” sign, especially this time of year). I think the best way to handle these robots is to smile pleasantly and wish them a “Merry Christmas.”

I only did shopping for 4 presents in stores this year and two of those were done by my son and husband and the other two I got at the grocery store. For the rest I let my fingers do the walking and did all my shopping online. It was easy and effortless; saved gas, tax, and most of all TIME. AND when I ordered from Amazon to get free shipping just had to add an item for me to get free shipping. Two Amazon orders, two gifts for me…um-m-m, no I did not plan this; I thought I was going to buy another gift at the store and at the last minute decided item online was nicer than the one I was going out to buy. Next year I am doing all my shopping online and sneaking mine in there too…well I am saving the shipping and gas.

Have been baking cookies for the last two weeks and so far have made 25 dozen cookies. About 8 dozen have already found a home for the holidays, the majority of the rest are leaving this week-end and then I’ll do the ones for my family.

Tree, bells, Santa’s and Nativities are up; still have the Angels (but I put them up very last because I leave them up until February and Valentine’s day (never have too many cupids floating around.) This year I even had time to put out my sewing room decorations. I love these decorations…

they are some of the last my Mother made for me. She made this sewing box with cards of threads and tied spools of thread on the branches with ribbon and beads. She bought all the sewing related ornaments and decorations.

The small tree in the bathroom is a guild favor, I love the buttons it is too cute.

 

My other thing this time of year is to collect these perfume sample cards. I open one and place it in the trash basket in my bathroom every time I change the bag. The small basket is in my closet and every time I open the closet door I get a pleasant puff of scent…When these run out I just use a quick spray of my favorite spray or DHs aftershave on a tissue.

Am getting to stitch occasionally, but nothing to show yet….. BUT I think I might go drive by the shopping center mall and laugh!

Hope I and everyone has time to stitch today and any day until Christmas!  ttfn…sue

One thought on “Tis that time of year…

  1. I think at this time of year we need to occasionally remind ourselves to stop and smell the Christmas cookies–with all the hustle and bustle, it’s easy to forget the real meaning of the holiday. Have a terrific Christmas with family and friends!

Leave a Reply

