Royal Wedding and Needlework

I set my recorders last night for the Royal Weddings, BBC, ABC and NBC; but I still got up this morning at 4:00AM to watch. I woke up, knew if I didn’t get up I would kick myself so I got up. I really enjoyed every moment and wish the BBC would have kept the entire day “live.”  The Royal Wedding has its own webpage (http://www.officialroyalwedding2011.org/tag/homepage/page/1 ).

And in case you have not heard, the Royal School of Needlework (http://www.royal-needlework.org.uk/ assisted Sarah Burton from Alexander McQueen in making the Catherine’s wedding dress design become a dream come true. (http://www.officialroyalwedding2011.org/blog/2011/April/29/The-Wedding-Dress–Bridesmaids–Dresses-and-Pages–Uniforms ) .

I did a bit of stitching today…the first I’ve done since the carrots.  I basted the areas for a design I am going to teach for my guild next year. Each square is individually basted so I can remove the basting before stitching the area. I have not set in stone what I am doing in each square nor the center yet but I have several ideas I am working through. I want very little if any compensation; I think it is much easier to understand a new technique if compensation is kept to a minimum.  I have never been fond of the word teach, it always makes me think of someone who has more knowledge than someone else; AND trust me there are many stitchers who have forgotten more than I am ever going to learn. But I am going to share what I have learned by reading, studying, and practicing a brief study of pattern couching.  I am using the following books for this study, but would appreciate any other suggestions anyone might have:

Jean Taggert; Laid Fillings for evenweave fabrics

Jane Zimmerman; Traditional Silk and Metal Thread Techniques on Canvas

Jane Lemon; Metal Thread Embroidery

I don’t stitch Christmas stockings, but I have a friend who has stitched about 20 or so stockings for her family over the past 15 years. I’m just putting this one on a scroll frame for her. I think this will be a good project for this afternoon as I see a nap in my future.

Leave a Reply

