Cat & Bunny

My cat does not play with my threads and usually never bothers any of my needlework. (I have a friend with a cat that steals her threads and hides them.) My cat is very polite most of the time, BUT when she decides she needs to be loved nothing stops her! Usually when I’m stitching she will just sit on the arm of the chair and stare at me until I am guilted into loving her. But this week she plopped on my lap; I think she thought I was petting her as I pulled my threads through the canvas. I let her sit there until she finally decided the window had ample sun to warm her and off she went.

Back to bunny…I know this canvas is no longer available but it is fun to stitch. 10 mesh is so fast to stitch, don’t need magnification or extra light and I am not striping or laying most of the threads. Keep in mind this canvas 15 inch x 11.5 inch would only be about 8 inches x 6.5 inches on an 18 mesh canvas. And so even though this canvas is no longer available, I can experiment with stitches and techniques.

I’ve finished the background and marked where the carrot tops were painted. I’ve started the bunny and am using the Nobuko stitch for him. I am reversing the direction of the stitches and trying to limit the compensation stitches because of change in color. Since I am using 4 ply wool knitting yarn I am keeping my thread length short about 15 to 18 inches. The thread does not seem to be wearing as I stitch but I have noticed it untwists more than say Appleton or another non stranded thread. I really like the color and it is easy to use.  The dark gray is from my stash, it is an old Orchidee yarn; since I only need a bit of this dark gray and I decided to use it.  If I had not had this color I would have bought the darker value of the same knitting wool I am using.

Before I began stitching I used a picture to play with stitches on the canvas; I do love that I can do this. I printed off the head area and even though I may change the placement of stitches as I stitch at least I had an idea the effect I wanted. Even if you do not have a computer program that allows you to play with stitches on the picture you can do this too. You can either take a picture of your canvas with a digital canvas and print it or make a copy using a flatbed desktop printer. You can print in gray scale using either method, consult you printer, and if not just use a color copy. Many copy machines will allow you to enlarge the area and also to set the grayscale desired. Then you can use colored pens or pencils to draw the stitches directly on the copy.

I’ve been watching the news this morning about all the snow on the east coast…I hope everyone is staying warm and safe. And I hope all those of you who stitch stay warm, safe and stitch!

Hope everyone has time to stitch today. ttfn…sue

One thought on “Cat & Bunny

  1. 60.3 inches of snow have been recorded so far this season in Boston. Luckily, being 35 miles out into the Atlantic Ocean means less white stuff for us, but we’ve certainly had our share. It’s not even February, but this winter is already old!

Leave a Reply

