Last of Christmas: Ornaments & Gifts

Between decorating the house, shopping for presents, baking cookies and having a house guest I did manage to sew some Christmas ornaments and now they are all taken down and put away for another year.

My ornaments this year were another one of those let me see if I can do this…I wanted to make ornaments that were quick and easy and that I could carry around with me to stitch. I knew I wanted to use wired ribbon for the backing so I purchased this first. I folded a piece of the ribbon into a ribbon candy shape to get an approximate length (about 5 ½ to 6 inches.) Then I figured out how many threads wide the canvas would be added the number of threads to turn back and decided to stitch the edges with a Scotch stitch. I used the Scotch stitch because from the first I was not sure the wired ribbon would give me enough strength to fold the canvas into ribbons of candy. With the scotch stitch on the edges I could run a jewelry wire up each side if I needed and I did need to do this (use 28 gauge wire). Then I started looking though needlepoint magazines and used stitches and stitch patterns I thought would be fun to try. I added a small buttonhole loop to one end and a sequin snowflake to the other end. Then I glued (Yes, I said glued…these are ornaments to be hung on a sap filled Christmas tree not go to the Smithsonian) the ribbon on the back. I bent them into shape and voila Christmas ornaments.

My niece reminded me that I had offered to stitch something for her PEO group and so I whipped up this ornament for her to give. She wanted something that would have gold stars a symbol used by her PEO group. This was the best I could do. I finished it myself since it was way past our shop finishing deadline. Since I had the other ornaments completed I kept this in my carry along project and have stitched extras for next Christmas… (YES, I am ahead of the game. 1st time in my life, now all I have to do is remember where I put them and to get them finished finished before next Christmas.)

I am Christmas-ed out for now…

Hope everyone has time to stitch today! ttfn…sue

Leave a Reply

