Stitching & Groundhog Day

I had the best day Saturday, January 30! I was home alone and spent the entire day stitching and listening to blog radio about needlepoint. If you have not found Gone Stitching on blog radio you are missing a great time. Go to the website for the store Gone Stitching [located in beautiful downtown Bergenfield, New Jersey ;-)] http://gonestitching.net/  and click on the Blog talk radio mike. This will take you to 28 shows that have been broadcast since July 2009.  If you listen, you will get to hear about designers and products for the needlepoint community from shop owner Renee Seidman. AND if you are smarter than I am, you can download these episodes to your I-touch or phone and listen anytime. I have somehow managed to download 10 of them to my I-touch but the rest are being stubborn and I am waiting for one of my grandchildren to do it for me or until my I-touch dummy book arrives and I can read and understand it. I have no vested interest in this shop since I live in the Midwest…BUT anyone who helps promote the art of needlepoint or needlework should be applauded and Renee is doing this.

Not to say, that anyone who blogs regularly (notice I did not include myself in this category) or has a website does not also promote the art of needlepoint and needlework. You all need a big Thank you from all of us who learn and are inspired by your works. And since February is National Embroidery Month:

THANK YOU to everyone who inspires and teaches us about embroidery,

whatever medium we choose to use. 

 Also read Mary Corbet’s blog entry today, it is too cute. http://www.needlenthread.com/2010/02/what-do-hand-embroidery-and-canned.html

 And yesterday, I spent the better part of the day making a gift for my 92 year old Uncle who is in a nursing home and confined to bed. Uncle Lowell is the oldest member of our family ever…my mother, his sister was 90 years old and my grandmother, his mother 89 years old. I want him to keep this honor forever…not that I don’t have enough needlepoint stash to outlive 92 years…I just don’t want to live to be that old. Uncle Lowell’s mind is sharp as a tack for 92 but his body isn’t. He is like a second father to me, he was my “Father of the Bride” (mine father had passed away the year before). I can’t remember a time that he has not been part of my life. He taught me about antiques and collectibles among other things. But at 92 years of age you don’t need much. Uncle Lowell loves birds, he had a collection of over 100 birds and red birds are one of his favorites. So when I saw red bird material, I knew I had to make it for him. Gifts are given for love at this age; you don’t keep them for a special day…because everyday with them is special. I had one of my talented Daughter-in laws (they are all talented in their own ways) embroidery his name of one fabric and then I but it together, zigzagged the edges and blanket stitched around it with perle cotton. Tomorrow I am going to give it to him. 

This talented Daughter-in-law I mentioned embroiders (you’ll see more of this at a later),  and makes American Girl doll clothes (http://www.etsy.com/shop/alldolldup) among other things. She is also wife to my oldest son, my oldest (in married years) daughter-in law, and mother to 4 of my eight soon to be nine precious grandchildren. Thanks for helping with this gift

And today is Groundhog Day. Punxsutawney Phil may have seen his shadow but here in the Midwest we are holding out for South Side Fireplace Wood Co and Woodyard Bar-be-que luncheon to be a bit warmer and more optimistic. This event started 54 years ago and was men only until 4 years ago. It really was one of the last vestiges of men only…but alas, the men realized the folly of their ways and now we woman get to come too. Every year family and friends gather to pay homage to the little beast; it is truly a great time… we have fun, see old friends, share a good meal with grog or two…and best of all support St. Vincent DePaul Society in our area.

So without further ado, I am off to party!

ttfn…sue

2 thoughts on “Stitching & Groundhog Day

  1. Hi Sue,

    Enjoyed reading Mary’s post. LOL!

    Glad you had a perfect day. We’ve been snowed in so much I haven’t had a day to myself at home for a while. But can’t complain as work has been cancelled due to weather! 🙂

    Enjoyed seeing Uncle Lowell’s blanket and yes you are right to give him the gift without waiting for a special occasion.

    Cynthia
    Windy Meadow

Leave a Reply

