Clan spools

coat-scott-gordon-2

I promise this is the last of the Scott and Gordon Clan needlepoint for this year, but I wanted to show the clan tartan spools.

My DH loves to look at wood carving, he doesn’t do it but he appreciates the art…me too. This week-end there was a show close to us so we spent some time looking. Wood carving is beautiful, there were some birds at this show that looked like they could fly away. And of course I looked at every tool as a possibility to use in needlework. What I noticed was some of the carving design books would adapt well to needlepoint and I have a few to explore. Books are my weakness! I also found two wooden spools for the clan coats. It was a good day at the wood carving show.

I had also looked for Gordon clan ribbon and didn’t find any so I decided to copy the plaids from my clan books for my own use. So with the help of my printer-scanner, I copied the clan plaid, reduced the size, repeated the copies on the computer matching the plaid and printed clan paper to use. I painted the spools with Gesso to seal and then painted the ends black. After the paint dried, I attached the clan paper using “Mod-Podge”  (http://www.plaidonline.com/apmp.asp). I followed the directions and sealed the spool, attached paper using “mod-podge” as glue and then sealed with one coat. I don’t think it needs 4-5 sealer coats and I like the gloss finish.

I think now I am going to experiment with making some of my own tartan ware. Antique tartan ware is so-o-o expensive. If you want to read more about it start here: http://www.suite101.com/article.cfm/antiques_and_collectibles/26871. or if you want to be enabled like me here Tartanware: Souvenirs from Scotland   (http://www.amazon.com/Tartanware-Souvenirs-Ira-Von-Furstenberg/dp/1857935144/ref=wl_it_dp?ie=UTF8&coliid=IDPGTQHS6DD1H&colid=2QVPARLG16KKD) .

I’m off to the guild meeting…ttfn…sue

Leave a Reply

