St Patrick’s Day

 

coat-scott1Today is St. Patrick’s day and it is definitely my day. I remember when I was a small girl in school, we had to fill out a census card that told out ethnic backgrounds and percentages. My dad set down and figured it up; I was  56% Scottish and 38% Irish with a 1.5 % each Germany and French and 2% English and 1% Indian. But he told me with my coloring, personality and temperament to just write 60% Scottish and 40% Irish. So all my life I have been Scotch-Irish and I married a Dutchman just to help the bloodline.

My needlepoint coat is one of two but alas I only have one completed today. This one is the Scott clan; it has the crest pin on the breast plate. I have another one for the Gordon clan. I got the clan badges at the Scottish Merchant, Alexandria Virginia (http://www.scottishmerchant.com/) .   I also have Scott clan ribbon that I plan to put around the base of the spool. In fact, I plan to buy wooden spools and pain the ends black and attach the ribbon to make them look more like tartan ware. I need to find ribbon in the Gordon plaid too…so if anyone knows where I might find 1 inch plaid tartan ribbon let me know please.

So today my Scotch-Irish blessing for all:

May you have needles that never tarnish.

May you have threads that never tangle.

And may all your stitches be perfect

And may you have hours to put them all together in your favorite project.

Happy stitching!

ttfn…sue

One thought on “St Patrick’s Day

Leave a Reply

