P a s s i o n & Scissors

ED Note: This was suppose to post Saturday Jan 31, 2009.

Yesterday while I was glorying in the fact I was semi caught up I took time to stitch and watch Oprah. The subject was: Do what you are passionate about. As I was stitching away, I begin to think about what I was passionate about; my family, my creativity, my needlepoint. Someone said, “Success is doing what you love best. ” And as I thought about this I have done what I love best. Someone else said to follow your passion and life would have meaning and the rewards would come.

I am passionate about my family and even though I never made a million dollars raising three sons, I have mult-millions of blessings and rewards from them and now their families are just adding to that multi million. And being an only child , raised in a predominately female world, raising three boys to adult hood either had to be a passion or I would have killed them. There were days when I felt like a foreigner in another world and not understanding the language.  I love being a wife and a mother and I always said I wanted 3 boys or 2 boys and a girl…Careful what you wish for, you might get it…I did!

 I’m also passionate about my needlepoint and since this was more what Oprah was driving at I really gave this some thought. And yes, I am passionate about my needlework…and truthfully everyone’s artistic talents. I will never be a quiltmaker, but I do love to look at the quilt art of others. But needlepoint is my favorite and I love to read all the blogs to see what everyone is doing. But even more than that I am fortunate enough to be entrusted to help other teachers/designers put their thoughts and designs onto paper. I get to stitch on the computer some good designs and projects. I would never have time to stitch all the things I compute but I get the satisfaction of knowing that I have been part of helping others  produce good work for others to stitch.

I also thought about my collections because I have been passionate about collecting. My friend Carole Lake http://www.carolelake.com/index.html says that if you have three of something you have a collection. I hope that does not mean I have a collection of soup ladles(we are having soup for dinner) …I have four, but I do have a bunch of collections! Some of my collections are holiday related and some are just things I like especially needle related collections. 

 Gay Ann Rogers http://www.gayannrogers.com/site_2/Home_Page.html on Shinning Needle Society was discussing scissors and so the day my computer was at the hospital I decided to photograph mine…and I have scissors! I used to think stitchers who said they had to have a pair of scissors for every project were silly. Well,  I owe all stitchers out there who have said this a big sorry.  “Sorry!” I have scissors for every project I own and then some.

But I do not have a pair of these in case anyone would like to donate to my collection. Of course if I had a pair of these I would have to have a Brinks guard to go with them. But if anyone wants to send me a pair I will make a fine needlepoint case for them 😉

http://frenchneedlework.com/cgi-bin/detail.pl?NO13

I do not own a $500 pair of scissors but here are some of the ones I do own…

scissor-3These are two old pair. The blue needlepoint case I made for my mother in 1970. The brown case was mine and those are my first two pair of needlepoint scissors.

 

 

scissor-10c  scissor-10a scissor-10b

These were given to me by a friend of my mother. They were his wife’s embroidery scissors and I am honored to have them. They say Pfeilring Solingen. I have used them and they have a wonderful feel.

 

scissor-9My uncle gave me these. I don’t know where he got them but they are well used (wish they could talk) and well worn but I like them. I love the clasp on the case and if it wouldn’t ruin the value I might make a new case and use this. I could have the scissors refurbished but them to me they would lose all their history.

scissor-12My husband gave me these for Christmas one year. I just showed them a picture of them and he bought them for me. These are WASA Solingen scissors. I love the feel of these too but seldom use them.

 

scissor-11And this is my last set of scissors. The canvas is a Lee canvas and I found this set of scissors at a shop. It was fate. Needed to be put together. I stitched the canvas and my finisher Patty worked her magic. The scissors are WASA Solingen. I haven’t used these yet.

 

scissor-2ascissor-4 These fob and cases were made for me by dear friends. 1st picture: Hear no evil, see no evil and speak no evil was beaded for me by Debby Bayer, my friend who does beautiful Japanese embroidery, needlepoint and knitting.

2nd picture L-R: Charlotte Lance was a member of my local guild and had a case like this at a local seminar. I loved the case and about a month later this was sent to me. I keep a pair of scissor used to clip out stitches in this case.

The next case, the sunflower is a gift from my good friend Carole Lake.  We have this thing about sunflowers. I love the case and bought a pair of WASA Solingen scissors for this case. I use this in the summer, but only at home.

And the peach Hardangercase was made for me by my friend, Karen Eichorst. Karen does beautiful Hardanger, needlepoint , beading and also knits. And the scissors  I have in this case are Tres Claveles because Karen said they were the best for Hardanger. I am prepared if I ever need them.

 

scissor-5These scissor fobs were made by me. Flag I made forever ago, so when Ginger but out the RWB special scissors I had the fob for it. The candy corn I made last fall and the witch scissors are my newest scissors from Unique scissors. I can hardly wait for Halloween this year. The Thimble is a Sharon G canvas and I use it with my Glostershire Mouse stitching bags (I’ll take a picture of these one of these days and post it) I use this for guild classes.

 

scissor-6These I made to illustrate plaids, a class I taught for my local guild. And scissor cases need scissors…I found these at Walmart as a set, and they cut fine.

 

 

scissor-15These are three (another collection) of strawberry fobs I have stitched. The top pink one is older than dirt and was a painted canvas, but I don’t think I ever knew who painted this canvas. The red strawberries were kits but I did not record the names.

 

scissor-7I collect rabbits with carrots… so I had to have this case and the scissors are rabbit scissors. I don’t remember the name of this designer.

 

 

scissor-8ascissor-8b This set is another one of my favorites. I believe this is a Melissa Shirley canvas and the scissors are DOVO Solingen. My DH bought these for me at Needlewoman East http://www.theneedlewomaneast.com/Welcome.html in Washington DC for Christmas one year. This case has many memories stitched in it and the scissors are beautiful! Such a thoughtful DH!

 

scissor1AndI would be very remiss if I did not mention this set of scissor fobs. I keep them all together with the notes that came with them. I received these in the mail one day from an anonymous giver, the only thing I know about the giver is they are from the south (postmark on the envelope) and that the giver is a very loving generous person.  I received them because I had been part of a scissor fob swap and never received a fob from my giver. It is only fitting that they all have scissors and are a proud part of my collection! Each was wrapped with it’s own special note  and to be opened in order. It was such fun to receive and they still make me smile when I see them. (R-L) 1st & 2nd package:  “First attempt and I learned a lot. Mainly I need to take a beading class! :-)”  and scissors ” Aren’t these scissors bringht and cheerful?”  3rd package: My second attempt – using thread instead of wire.” 4th package: “My third attempt for SD Designs!” this set has my name on them too! 5th package: “This is a phone charm but I thought it was lovely enough for a scissor fob.” 6th package: “Well every lady needs pearls! This is actually a purse charm but wouldn’t it look wonderful as a scissor fob?”

Isn’t that great!

 

scissor-14scissor-131And these are the two pair of scissors I use most every day. They are surgery scissors and sharp. I love the scissor fobs. One I stitched to remind me of my friend who has Colon cancer. I stitched it while he was in the hospital and I would visit him. He saved his scissors for me. The other scissor fob is my Jiminy Cricket (another collection) scissor fob. I have two of these, one I use for a fan pull in my den where I compute and my needlework books are kept and my Jiminy Cricket collection is most always out. She also made a Jiminy Cricket charm necklace for me too. These were all made for me by: http://www.urbanuniquities.com/

I have more scissors. Most have either a scissor fob or case that I have purchased at a guild seminar or on a trip, were a favor at a guild seminar or meeting, or given to me as a gift. There were even a couple pair without a scissor fob or case…I’ll have to stitch something for these too. 

As time goes on I’ll show you more of my sewing collection. I am trying to inventory our house so my sons will know what is what and decide whether they want to keep or garage sale someday.

And so I decided I am passionate about what I do. I have many rewards for the things have done, I am doing and I still have yet to do.  ttfn…

Leave a Reply

