Changing the header

Yesterday, I decided to change the header of my blog.

The train did have significance and sentiment but only to me and did not reflect this blog. My youngest son had set this blog up for me and this was his choice of a picture. His brother, my second son also works for the railroad that sponsors this train so it had significance but mostly sentiment. I always intended to change it but it was another one of those “to-its”. So I put it on my list and now I can cross it off…maybe this list thing isn’t to bad.

inchy-atc-0807-star-3a4

 

Yesterday I was taking the Christmas things hanging on my hall wall and that’s where this picture hangs. I love this needlepoint and the attachments; The attachments were a bracelet that became to fragile to wear from a special friend. I also like it because it was quick and easy to stitch; it is a combination of 6 inchies to make an ATC (Artist Trading Card).

 

 

 

hall-1  hall-21

 

 

 

My hall connects the front of the house to the back of the house. I love this wall, it has a lot of things that I love to look at…it is my eclectic wall and has so many family memories.

 

 

 

calendarThis is “Master Calendar for 112 years”. from 1844 to 1956.It was my father’s and he kept it on his desk at work even after 1956. I keep it accurate only the year is 1909.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

glovekeyszodiac-plate-tea-strainerplatetree-and-baby-beadskitchen-best

 

 

 

A glove stretcher (it was used to dry those cotton gloves we all wore in the 40-50’s)

Antique keys (don’t you wonder what secrets they hold?) and a brass stencil of a tulip, our last name means tuilip.

A zodiac plate from Brazil, and abacus, and my Grandmother’s tea strainer that I still grab to use.

A Mari plate that has so many cracks is looks like a mosaic, but my favorite aunt loved it and I just could not bear to see it thrown away. I hung it up close to ceiling and you would be surprised at the number of people who comment on how pretty it is. Some I show it’s faults, others I just smile to myself and say thanks.

The tree I made in the 80’s during my wood cutting days…there is a walnut angel and pineapple hanging also. We hung the ribbons from the tree during the 1st and 2nd gulf wars. Look at the beads to the left of tree, they were my baby toys. One set is wood and the other the Bakelite, but what is most interesting is both are strung on string and the pieces are small.  Boy what a hazard these are by today’s standards…not to mention that the paint could have lead… and yes they were chewed on.

And the last plate was from my Great Aunt Rose and Aunt Hazels kitchen. These two favorite aunts could make shoe leather taste good. They loved to cook and Thanksgiving at their house was a feast…and meal at their house was a feast. Whenever we have family “get-to-geters”, I look at this plate and know that traditions continue.

know-what-this-is

 

 

And this is my mystery antique. It is metal, the thing on the end is like a spring over the end. It does not bend. It is 3 inches long and 3/4 inch wide at the bow underneath the spring. 

 Anyone know what it is? I’ll tell you Friday. This is a conversation piece when people see it…

 

 

 

 

 

mardi-gras-86me-book-cards

 I love my street sign. We were in New Orleans for Carnival (Mardi Gras is only Fat Tuesday) in 1986. We saw 9 parades in three days, it was quite an experience. These signs hang all over the city, each parish had their own sign. This one is from Jefferson Parrish. I wanted one, so I asked the Commander of County Sheriff’s Department how to get one. He looked at me like I was nuts, but gave me his card and told me to write after Carnival was over. I did and he sent this to me..no charge! I can’t believe they didn’t sell them. What a great fund raiser.

I love greeting cards and some are too cool. I frame many greeting cards to hang, it is great inexpensive artwork. If I ever get tired of them I can replace them, so far that has never happened.  These are from Mary Engelbreit, she autographed one for me too. I have three sets of these: this one books, the “good to be the Queen” pair and “Grow old with me” pair.

And of course needlework.

sunflower1

mountain-star1The sunflowers are one of about 12 of these I did for a ANG certification piece I was doing. I stitched them to see which color combinations worked well, and which stitch combinations I liked best. I gave most of them away as Christmas gifts the year I made them.

The gray piece is Mountain Star. I taught this as part of my ANG certification in Denver. I only taught it in pinks or blues but my husband wanted this color for his office.

There’s a lot more hanging there: Family pictures, Pat Buckley Moss prints, Charlie Harper postcards, some original art work, stained glass pieces, my uncle’s horse and camel crop (complete with poker), brass knuckles that belonged to my husbands grandfather. My mother’s last Fuller Brush vegetable brush…she loved these things and we found boxes of them. We just used them up last year except for this one that we hung.  Like I said this is a fun hallway, full of memories and reminders of many generations who made us who we are.

This post got carried away down memory lane, but I can now mark dusting all the pictures and wall off my list. 🙂

ttfn…sue

Leave a Reply

