Long May She Wave

 

HAPPY 4th of JULY!

And these are my flags…(L-R) Hanging flag is a Blackbird design…One of the few cross stitch pieces I have done in the past few years. It is done on 32 count linen over 1, mighty small I might add. Two the Point, a great needlepoint & cross stitch shop in Overland Park, Kansas (Kansas City suburb) has this done on 32 count linen over 2 threads. Both these pieces are smaller than the original, but I love both of them. I thought mine was going to be the same size as the shop but it is smaller (Stitched area is: 2 1/4 inch by 4 3/8 inch).

The rest of the designs are mine designs if you can claim the American flag design is original. I like to think of them as stitch adaptations of Old Glory.

The next piece is a box stitched on 18 count plastic canvas. It is my design. I wanted to see if I could make a box and I did.

The framed piece was suppose to be hung vertically long but then the flag was hung incorrectly…who would have thought when the flag is hung vertically the stars are to the upper left. To me this is the back side of the flag, and since we don’t want to be incorrect we display it horizontally. This piece is all done in mosaic variations.

The next little round box is the center of a design that you can get through Rainbow Gallery http://www.rainbowgallery.com/freechartdownloads.cfm?ID=12 about 7 freebies down. Somewhere I have these stitched too…maybe next year I’ll get them finished.

And the red box is a another star I did  using Weeks Dye Works a few years ago.  The box is from Romancing the Past.

Today we are off to celebrate my youngest son’s birthday. Edward was really born on July 1st but when he was young we celebrated his birthday over the holiday, we told him that the fireworks were just for him. When Edward was five, we went to Washington DC for a family funeral. My uncle who was a retired Colonel took us to Fort Meyer for dinner, they brought Edward a birthday cake with a sparkler on top, sang “Happy Birthday”  just for him, we watched the fire works from Fort Meyer and everyone made him feel special. Needless to say, 30+ years later, 4th of July is almost bigger than Christmas (just read this to Edward, so Ed Note: It is bigger!) and I know no birthday party has every equalled that 5th birthday. And truthfully fireworks on the mall in DC are hard to beat. I envy any of you the chance to see the fireworks or just to be in Washington DC, especially when the weather is so beautiful this year.

However you plan to spend the day, be safe! I’ll continue to catch up on my reading and post other things I stitched as time permits.

ttfn…sue

Leave a Reply

