May TIF

     

I finished these last week, just did not get around to posting until today. I have had the worst cold of the season…at first I thought it was Spring allergies, but now I’m calling it what it is a virus. I am on the mend but I still feel like a bobble-head doll and much to my families joy…have no voice. This too shall pass with my dose of antibiotics and tea.

The question for the month was what do I call myself? This is in reference to my art work, because I am a woman and I have many titles…Woman, Wife, Mother, Grandmother, Friend! But in my artwork I would refer to myself as a needle-artist or needlepointer. I am not found of the term fiber, I think it is to broad. I also think stitcher is too broad and crafty. I think we need to define ourselves as much as possible and especially as artists, whether we are a quilter, needlepointer, acrylic painter, oil painter, mixed media, whatever we choose…we are artists and we do make this a better world.

Off to read all the new blog messages and drink my potta tea

ttfn…

4 thoughts on “May TIF

  1. O what a lovely temari’s you made. You’re right about us being artists. It doesn’t matter how perfect you are in what you are doing, it’s the effort that we put into it that makes the world more beautiful!

  2. You poor thing! Enjoy the tea and feel better soon, ok?

    I don’t know what we call ourselves. I’m a needlepointer, I guess. Somehow that doesn’t capture the fascination I feel with the canvas, designs and threads, though.

    Jane, fellow fanatic from CH

  3. Hi Sue,

    Interesting question.

    I refer to myself as a stitcher as I work in many different techniques and it’s how I describe myself to my friends and the children and teens I volunteer to teach needlework. I also describe myself as a maker because I make things.

    I wear so many names/titles, wife, mother, leader, teacher, employee, etc. I don’t really worry about what anyone calls me. I just want them to get my name right. I’m Cynthia or Cyn, not Cindy (in all its different forms) or even Kathy which for some reason I’ve been called by people my whole life! Guess I must look like a Kathy. Sigh… 🙂

    I’ve enjoyed reading your blog archives.

    The newest Tamari balls are beautiful! I also love how you photograph them so we can see them from all sides at once!

    Thank you so much for sharing and hope you feel better soon! We are going to want to see more pictures. 🙂

    Cynthia
    Windy Meadow

Leave a Reply

