March TIF

I’ve had these finished for a couple days, just needed to attend to the “detail” of taking pictures…

080305f.jpg    080309d.jpg      080307g.jpg

I  went with the  color motif and did not pay much attention to the “little things, the small moments, the details in life? This months challenge is to do just that, pay attention to the tiny details.” But as I was making the temari balls base, I realized that without paying attention to the tiny details my temari bases are not round and firm. So I do unconsciously pay attention to details. I am more aware that I pay attention to the detail of marking the temari another important step if the temari are to be as even as possible.  

It is amazing how many of the “tiny details” we take for granted or simply ignore because we do them everyday or every time we apply our art of choice. I was in my local needlepoint shop not long ago and a woman came in seeking advice about a thread and stitch. I went to show her a stitch on the extra space of her canvas and there was no extra space…i.e. it is recommended to have minimum 2 inches on all sides of the design area of a needlepoint canvas and 1.5 inches is the absolute minimum. Anyway, there was barely an inch all around,more like 1/2 inch and this was covering the stretcher bars. Thank goodness she was using these because I can’t imagine how she ever would have gotten it blocked back into shape otherwise. I did ask her if she had these professionally blocked & finished and she said she didn’t think it was necessary to block her needlework because she worked on a frame and she finished everything herself. Since I have never seen the woman before and I have never seen anything she’s finished I can’t comment.  I thought to myself that if she was happy and the receiver of the needlework was happy, who really cared if it was perfect.. some child or grandchild was probably thrilled to have something Grandmother made. And I also silently thought to myself, the shop finisher was probably grateful she was finishing herself. But really, isn’t all about the love we put into our work? Anyway that was the least of the immediate problems…Every thread she had stitched with still had its tail parked somewhere on the canvas. I did suggest she start to bury these threads in the appropriate areas and to avoid placing dark threads in light areas. I did several of these so I could demonstrate the stitch in the appropriate area. I used an away knot to start and explained I did so, so if she chose not to use this stitch she could remove the thread easily. I did suggest she add a “bit more canvas around the design” so she would have an area to practice a new stitch or thread if desired. I don’t think she will ever had the recommended 2 inches but maybe her next design will not be up against her stretcher bars.

My point is that we take many things for granted when we have been applying out art for some time or have learned our art from a professional or someone dedicated to the proper way to execute the art. I know there are no hard fast rules, but there are recommendations that are very helpful. I always tell students, this is my way to do this…there are many other ways out there and many other teachers to teach you their way. You need to try their way and sometimes there is a reason they do what they do. But if after the class is completed, you want to replace a stitch, thread or the way the stitch is executed be my guest. It is your piece and you have to be happy with the piece. There are no needleart police. As my grandmother used to tell me, “Nothing is for certain but death. If you want to change or try something new, fine…But first learn to walk before you try to run.”

So I guess I do notice the little things even though I am not always aware of them. I am trying to slow down and notice the small things…

Have a wonderful change of season no matter where you live. I am really looking forward to the blessings of Spring and all the new, fresh little things I hope to notice.

ttfn…sue

Leave a Reply

