Mini Temari Class

This is one of those instructions every one reads but few do:

Please read all instructions before beginning.

 Some people in the TIF Challenge have ask for a how to, so I think I will try a mini Temari class here…If you are really interested in Temari there are two very helpful web sites and both are open to the public :

Barbara Suess: http://www.japanesetemari.com/and Ginny Thompson: http://www.temarikai.com/

 Everyone has their own way of making a Temari ball. It’s like most things, you do it the way you learned it. I learned this way and I have tried the rice hulls but didn’t care for this method, I never could wrap an even ball starting with a styrofoam ball, so I use the method I learned and it works for me.

 drawing core     I start with either a wad of cotton or 8-10 packing peanuts in a sandwich bag. When I use a sandwich bag I poke it with a pin to eliminate air pockets. Begin by winding very tightly sports yarn around the core material. Once this core begins to take form loosen the tension on the yarn but still keep a firm even tension, turning the ball often to keep from making a lumpy ball. I try to keep the yarn in the middle and wrap and turn at the same time. This takes some practice but if the ball is wrapped with a firm even tension. Occasionally I mold the ball with the palms of my hands or by rolling on a firm surface with the palm of my hand. I wrap the yarn (between 75-80 yards) to the approximate size of the ball…I like to make my Temari between 10 and 12 inches in circumference (25-30cm).yarncrochet thread

Over the yarn layer I wrap a layer of crochet thread. I do this because I don’t want the fuzzies of the yarn to work their way to the surface while I’m stitching the Temari. I also think it makes a smoother, flatter surface for the spool of thread to be wrapped. I use enough to cover the ball and keep the yarn from poking through, about 50 yards. I wrap in the same random zig zag  way with even firm tension. This layer should not add more than 1/8th -1/4 inch dimension to the ball. In the pictures I used a different color yarn to show the different stages of wrapping; when I am making a Temari I try to use light colors for light threads and dark colors for dark threads.

making-temari-thread.jpg Over the crochet thread I wrap at least one 250 yard spool of thread. I have been known to use up small spools of  leftover sewing thread from other projects …usually these are from the same hue family, but not necessarily compatible—Example Yellow- green on a dark green ball.  I also use serger thread cones, not the fuzzy kind but the sewing thread weights…then you have to guess when you’ve used 250 yards off a cone. I did notice last time I was a fabric store that Coats and Clark is not making 300 yd spools anymore just 250. When you get to the 12 inch size ball you’ll need more thread, so you’ll either have to do large and small spool or 2 large. Just remember to cover well.

 As you are winding remember to keep tension consistent and to turn the ball. I mold the ball two or three times as I make it also.

Next time, I’ll help you divide and mark a simple 4 and 8 division Temari ball. Practice making those Temari Balls. I will also post a Bibliograph of English written temari books.

2 thoughts on “Mini Temari Class

  1. That’s a great lesson Sue. It is exactly the way I make mine except that I usually start with sock in the middle (lots of socks with holes in them in my house). I wish there had been as clear a description out there when I started doing temari.

  2. thanks for posting this – I found you via the TIF challenge – was admiring your march entry – and started scrolling down to see if you had a ‘how to’ . ill have to have a go one day!

Leave a Reply

