Details and color #’s for Temari

Several people have asked me how I make the composite pictures like the ones shown in the previous entry. https://sudukc.wordpress.com/2008/01/26/tif-project/

I take the pictures in daylight but not direct sunlight. I use a tripod for my camera and I move the temari beneath it. I have been trying to be logical (difficult for a right brained individual) and take NP, EQ1(however many I think it takes to show circumference of ball , and SP. I try not to use the flash as this seems to glare on the metallic. I upload the pictures to my computer for editing.

I keep the originals in a separate file and will download these to a disk or other storage device about twice a year.

I use for my Graphic designing a program called Canvas.  I have used this program since version 2 so I have grown up with it, and I love it. I even wrote a book on how to use version 3 for needlepoint diagrams…oh so out of date today. It used to be a Deneba product but has been purchased by ADC. http://store.acdsee.com/store/acd/ContentTheme/pbPage.en_forWork/Currency.USD   As with any program there is a learning curve. They have just released version 11 but I’ve never loaded my version 10…another time issue. I am comfortable with the version I use but I need to upgrade. This is one of my pet peeves…I am comfortable with the version I use and I do not use all the options available now so why do I want more. I don’t use them because I do not need them but in order to have support and sometime upgrade to new computer you must have the newer current versions. I think computer software companies need to support more than one previous version.

Okay off my soapbox…

 I import the jpegs into Canvas and then I crop them to the size shown below and save in 2 formats: one high resolution and one lower resolution for using on the blog and in flicker account: http://www.flickr.com/photos/sudukc/. Sometimes the flicker account will have more pictures than the blog and I try to put notes here too (time issue). I use the sphere crop tool. I then place the cropped photos together, group, reduce the size and save as 2 files (one canvas format and the other jpeg/low resolution for blog). So…

 Temari 080122 NP-SPTemari 080122   +Temari 080122 NP-SP=Temari 080122

Make sense I hope so. And someday I want to be able to do 3D in the round. Stay tuned for that lotto win and a month to myself.

 Okay now to the details of each Temari…

Temari 080123 I ‘m sorry but I did not keep track of the color number for the base layer of the temari but it was a Coats & Clark sewing thread: green. This is a S4 wrapped pattern.  I decided to use the marking thread as part of the design pattern, so I wrapped the marking lines with 1/16 Kreinik ribbon 2094HL. Round 1:lt blue green  is 2 wraps on each side of marking threads using #5 DMC pearl cotton: lt blue green #598. Round 2:cream is wrapped 3 times on each side with #5 DMC pearl cotton: cream #822. Round three: purple is 2 wraps of #5 DMC pearl: dark blue violet #791. Round 4 is the final round and it is wraped with 1/16 Kreinik ribbon 2094HL. At the points of intersection ( where NP-SP threads cross equator threads) I made large cross stitches using 1/16 Kreinik ribbon 2094HL. At the NP and SP I stitched log straight stitches into the corners of the intersections using 1/16 Kreinik ribbon 2094HL. I tried to keep the ribbon flat, but noticed a couple places where it turned and I did not catch it.

 Temari 080122 Again I did not keep track of the Coats and Clark thread color but it was a light blue green. This is a S16 wrapped pattern with a herringbone stitched obi at the equator. I marked the ball with a very thin silver thread from my stash, I think it might have been DMC metallic floss but I am not for certain.

Temari 080122 NP-SP temari-080122-d.jpg  Round 1 is 4 wraps of #5 DMC pearl cotton: med green #580. This was done twice at 90 degree angles to itself (look at picture). It was then repeated at the equator 4 wraps. Round 2 is 4 wraps of #5 DMC pearl cotton: dk green #934 started at the marking line 45 degrees between the med green wraps, this round is repeated twice at 90 degree angles to itself. At the equator the #5 DMC pearl cotton: med green #580is wrapped 4 times on either side of the med green. Round 3 is placed in two of the areas between the med and dk green, the wraps will be at 90 degrees to each other so it doesn’t matter which guideline you chose to start. Place 4 wraps of #5 DMC pearl cotton: lt purple #211 on two more guidelines, and 4 wraps on either side of the greens at the equator. Round 4 is the final wrap. Using #5 DMC pearl cotton: dk purple #211 place 4 wraps on each of the remaining guidelines and also 4 wraps on either side of the equator, completing the obi base. If you look at the obi band it has developed a subtle woven pattern . Over the obi band, use the 16 spokes, stitch a herringbone stitch around the equator with #5 DMC pearl cotton: cream #822 . At the NP and SP long straight stitches were placed between the color wraps. At the center I did a spider web stitch using #5 DMC pearl cotton: cream#822.

 I hope that answers all the comments that were left…I’m off to take a walk (after all we don’t see many nice January days in the midwest) and then stitch. Maybe tomorrow  I’ll post again, that will be after guild meeting and after I start my  yearly “stash stock sum” or “stash reservoir run-down.” I read in the paper last week: “At the grocery and hardware store, they call it inventory. At the London Zoo, it’s a stocktake…” so I’m trying to decide which I like better: “stash stock sum ” or “stash reservoir run-down.” Any thoughts?  ttfn…

One thought on “Details and color #’s for Temari

  1. Cool you can do the merge thing with Canvas. I remember the really old version. So cumbersome. I *think* I can do the same thing with Picassa. I’ll have to try it out.

    Nice Temari too.

Leave a Reply

