Sidetracked but productive

Friday I got completely sidetracked. Decided to go with husband and grandson to Hutchinson Kansas and then on to Wichita Kansas to visit friends.

Grandson and husband were on a trip to the Cosmosphere in Hutchinson, Kansas with the Boy Scouts. Imagine a space museum in the middle of Kansas, but truthfully it was just wonderful!  It was the dream of Patrica Carey and she started with a used telescope at the state fair and the museum has grown from there.  A woman with a vision,  the ability to dream; envision the improbable and make it possible. They have Programs for people of all ages, summer camping programs for young people Grades 7-10; merit badge classes for scouts, and even a Elder-hostel. So if you every thought you wanted to be an astronaut there is a place for you. It was worth the trip. Visit their web site:

http://www.cosmo.org/museum/

But I did take my work with me and I did get something accomplished. I read one of the books on Goldwork I purchased that arrived before we left. Beginner’s Guide to Goldwork by Ruth Chamberline is a good book for beginning goldwork.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0855329548

3 bookmark designsChristmas presents 2007For Christmas 2007 I make over 100 of these bookmarks to give friends and family. I used Needle Necessities overdyed Kreinik thread and stitched darning patterns on black 18 count canvas to make these. After I had stitched all the canvases, I made the ultra suede bookmarks. I decided to use up the remaining threads on a temari ball. I had one marked to make one type ball,  but somehow did not follow the markings correctly and ended up with a Simple 4 division ball stitched in squares, similar to God’s Eyes. The remaining areas are filled with straight stitches sometimes called the “Pine Needle filling” and I added some French Knots. It’s pretty and one of the simplest designs to make so it was a good choice to work on in the car. One of the pictures I put together a composit of all sides, so you can see the design of the ball.

Temari squaresPine NeedlesTemari all

I also did some planning of the Take It Further Challenge but didn’t do any work on these.

We came home yesterday since the weather here is cold and  we were suppose to have snow and ice today. Luckily no snow and ice but it is cold…I think my temperature gauge is 33 degrees and this is the warmest part of the day. So now I am really off to the fireplace, blanket, hot tea and stitching the TIF challenge.

Leave a Reply

